Day 22: Had Salueng - Khong Chiam - Frankie goes to.....Indochina - CycleBlaze

January 10, 2018

Day 22: Had Salueng - Khong Chiam

Routing: # 2112

I do not only like Khong Chiam as such but I have built a wonderful relationship with a young couple who runs a souvenir shop down at the river. On top he does boat rides for tourists. When I came here first several years ago he didn´t speak a word of English but was very keen to learn to say: I have a boat - do you want a ride? I remember me sitting down at the river with him repeating this phrase dozens and dozens of time. In the end I swore to myself I would never ever go on a boat ride myself again. In 2012 I came back to Khong Chiam and when he saw me coming down towards his shop he came racing towards me yelling: I have a boat - do you want a ride? This still gives me goosebumps! So this is another must-stop for me but when I walked to their shop tonight it was already closed. The neighbour gave them a call though and it was another very emotional "Welcome back". I simply admire that young couple and it feels so extremely good having had the chance to participate to their career in such a minor way but receiving a reception like I would have financed the whole thing. I believe that sort of gratitude and relatedness is a thing I really have been missing back in Europe.

BeforeI forget to tell you about the ride today: Forget it! At least the first 50 km on the 2112 with two challenging uphill sections, several nasty undulations and a lot of that rough surface I showed you yesterday. Different story after summit no. 2. Delightful descent into Khong Chiam but all the same: Mostly unsinspiring bush and you never get to see the river until you get down into Khong Chiam. I am staying at a place I found through booking.com last night. It´s a really nice little hotel in the town center and I find the 350 Baht for my room almost ridiculous. But as I am on the receiving end I happily take it and might even stay a second night. Will only make that decision in the morning though as I am at the same time eager to get into Laos and ride down to the 4000 islands on the western bank of the river as suggested by my friends Andrea and Bruce. I have been to the islands at least four times but that new route makes me very curious.

Not a bad way to start the day: The river to my left....
Heart 2 Comment 0
..... and a bowl of the best Khao Tom Phla ever in front of me.
Heart 4 Comment 0
One step further than yesterday
Heart 4 Comment 0
There are a few messages in this photo: a) Yes, the traffic was that thin - b) Yes, that sort of bush was all I saw for most of the day - c) No, I don´t have any more exciting photos
Heart 4 Comment 0
Such a beautiful blossom.....
Heart 2 Comment 1
Bruce LellmanDok Fai (literally; flower fire)
Reply to this comment
6 years ago
....from such a sad looking, leafless tree
Heart 2 Comment 0
The Mekong floodplains at Khong Chiam
Heart 1 Comment 0
Khong Chiam - Celebrating the roosters who selflessly wake all of us up at 5 am
Heart 2 Comment 0
Khong Chiam waterfront
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Khong Chiam Place
Heart 1 Comment 0
I love watching when they artistically play this ball game which is called Trako as I believe. The rules seem to be similar to volleyball but they may only touch the hard little plastic ball with feet and head
Heart 1 Comment 0
Had Salueng - Khong Chiam
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 84 km (52 miles)
Total: 1,745 km (1,084 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0