Day 17: Ban Phaeng - Nakhon Phanom - Frankie goes to.....Indochina - CycleBlaze

January 4, 2018

Day 17: Ban Phaeng - Nakhon Phanom

Routing: #3023; 212; 5 km on river cycle track into NP

I would split today´s ride into thirds: magnificent start; 60 km on the 212; great finish. Let alone the middle section - a very satisfying day! With the J.B. Place Hotel being located just north of Ban Phaeng I was going through town anyway and after two unexciting days on the 212 I was eager to have some Mekong-riding again. And I got it at its very best along the rural road 3023 that runs right through the town center past the market and then continues along the riverbank. Despite its pitiful condition it was a delight to be on it. Unfortunately the state of it gets worse and worse and after 25 km I was in a permanent cloud of dust from the traffic so I had to turn right back to the monotonous racetrack 212. Shame! The following 65 km were as the two days before - there are worse cycling conditions but certainly more exciting ones too.

After the Mekong bridge north of Nakhon Phanom I stopped at a brand new 7eleven to get my bearings for the run into town. After a pretty long
day I was going to look for a hotel north of the town center first, starting with the Khongpumork Hotel, which looked nice on the photos I found. So no rush and shortly after my drink break I saw a temple on my left that I wanted to visit. And what did I find? A perfect cycle track that turned out to get better and better the closer I came to town. What a fantastic finish, made the whole hectic stint along the 212 forgotten. I treated myself with a VIP Riverview Room with a great little balcony at 690 B- more than worth the extra money! Plus breakfast (joc moo; cornflakes; toast) was included. I liked my room and the promenade in front of the hotel so much - I didn´t even walk into town anymore. I will have to ride through it in the morning anyway and from previous visits I know Nakhon Phanom quite well.

Something new for breakfast: The lady steamed some sort of rice dough into gooey crepes that got filled with minced pork and herbs. Extremely yummy!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Along the 3023 - that´s the way I like it!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Morning glory
Heart 0 Comment 0
Concentration.....
Heart 3 Comment 0
.....and happy with the outcome
Heart 0 Comment 0
Nice but I will still not take up smoking
Heart 0 Comment 0
One of the few fellow cyclists I have met so far
Heart 5 Comment 0
I´d love to know what made this buffalo gallop away from me. My German accent?
Heart 3 Comment 0
Starting off as a marked rack along plenty of cafes and restaurants with a stunning view on the Lao mountains on the other side...
Heart 0 Comment 0
....getting better....
Heart 1 Comment 0
....and better
Heart 1 Comment 0
The Khongpumork Hotel. I had the 2nd room from the right on the 1st floor as all top floor rooms were busy.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The disputable entrance decoration of the hotel. But you can´t say they didn´t try....
Heart 0 Comment 0
Hard to say what position I preferred - my balcony or along the promenade right in front of the hotel. Note for Andrea: This is not a singha singlet but a jersey of the Malaysian National Cycling Team
Heart 1 Comment 1
Andrea BrownNo elephant pants?
Reply to this comment
6 years ago
Ban Phaeng - Nakhon Phanom. The software would not accept my route out of Ban Phaeng along the 3023. Where the track becomes bulgy I stayed along the river where it says Ban Phong and turned south back to the 212 just before the M of Mekong
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 98 km (61 miles)
Total: 1,420 km (882 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0