The countdown is on - The Grand Tour - 2023 - CycleBlaze

April 26, 2023

The countdown is on

Ready, get set... and in three days it will be ... go. We are looking forward to this special trip for many reasons. 

To start with we will be happy to escape the frustrating cold and wet spring weather at home that has limited our bicycle outings.  Such a shame to be cooped up indoors and miss out on budding spring with its flowers and delicate touch of green. We should have left weeks ago.

It's starting to look like spring - but it doesn't feel like it with temps around 6C.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Even the sheep with all that lanolin in their woolly coats seek protection from the rain. (Just kidding, actually he was scratching his back on the pole, that wool probably itches.)
Heart 6 Comment 0

As I already mentioned in the intro, we will be riding through spectacular sections of France and Italy. None of them are completely new to us, but revisiting places you are fond of might be just as exciting - or more so? - as discovering something new. Over time (I am trying to avoid saying when you get old, as in your 80's) revisiting places that you have fond memories of becomes more and more appealing. Well, I might be eating my words next winter. I already have a novel experiment in mind.

Big excitement to be seeing Susan in just four days from now! And Rachael and Scott a month later! All of them have been an inspiration to us, and not just for this trip.

Now I just have to endure the drive to Arles. I would even prefer cycling all day in the rain to sitting two days in the car. Except that wouldn't get us to Arles.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 12
Comment on this entry Comment 12
Rachael AndersonI’m excited you’re hitting the road again!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Nancy GrahamI will, as you can see, be following along every step of the way. Have so much fun and take lots of your gorgeous photos.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Bob DistelbergI hope you have a great adventure. I'm looking forward to reading about it in ALL the journals.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Scott AndersonAnxious to hear someday what’s on your mind for next winter.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Nancy GrahamWill do, Nancy!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Rachael Anderson See you soon!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Bob DistelbergThanks, Bob! Any new tours from Vermont?
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Scott AndersonI'm sure you will approve.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Rich HarrellLooking forward to following along -- and I too am looking forward to seeing something other than cold, gray, rainy, and wind!
Have a great tour! I sure you will!
Two days in a Skoda -- I dont know . . . . Did I mention I'd love to have a Skoda?? :)

All the Best!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Bob DistelbergTo Suzanne GibsonNothing planned as yet, but I certainly have hopes of putting something together. I definitely have a list of things I'd like to do (I refuse to use the term "bucket list"!).
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Rich HarrellWe could trade :)
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Rich HarrellTo Suzanne GibsonMake that a Kodiaq and you are on!!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago