What to take? updated - French Fling - CycleBlaze

April 22, 2019

What to take? updated

A Goldilocks quandary

What to take?   You don't want to take too much, but you don't want to forget anything important and spend precious vacation time running around trying to replace it.  Even if an item isn't absolutely necessary, it's lousy wishing you'd brought it after all.  For example, I will never again do a trip on the Pacific Coast without my little binoculars.

No matter how many trips I do (of any sort), none are ever the same so I always have to revise my gear list.  Since I’ve started online journals for my bike tours, I always include the list so I have if for future reference.  That way I can use it as a starting point for a future trip and it’s where I can find it again.

On most tours I’ve used pretty well everything I took except things like my first aid kit and bike spares (which I really prefer not to need). I’d prefer not to need my rain gear, but that’s never happened as far as I can remember.  So those things always come along.

For the first three weeks, we’ll be travelling fairly light and staying in what I call “roofed accommodation”.  This includes hotels, B&Bs, hostels, etc.  I’ll be taking my camping gear since I plan to camp most nights when I’m travelling solo, but the camping gear will stay in Bordeaux while Al and I do the “Caves, Cuisine, & Chateaux” part of the trip.

The main thing I’ve changed for this tour is my camera.  Photography has always been an interest but until last year I’ve never had a digital camera I really liked.  I didn’t take it on my Rockies trip and regretted that decision.  It’s heavier and bulkier than my little point-and-shoot, but I think I’ll enjoy having it—especially once the non-photographer goes home.  I’m hoping his patience lasts for 3 weeks because he does a lot of waiting for me.

How much does all this weigh?  My brother-in-law asked  and  I didn't know.  I do now:  the bike and the gear I'll carry add up to 70 pounds.  The bike alone, with racks, fenders, seat bag and pump, but not the lock, is 32.8 pounds.

Feel free to skip the rest--it's my list.  Updated now that I've packed what I'm taking.

Jacquie's Bike
Co-Motion Pangea (with couplers and 165 42-32-24 crankset)
Tubus Tara front and Logo rear racks supporting Ortlieb Back-Roller Plus and Sport-Packer Plus panniers
Ortlieb Ultimate6 handlebar bag on a Rixen Kaul Klick Fix handlebar adapter (superior to Ortlieb's for disassembling/reassembling the bike)
Ortlieb map case
Garmin 810 bike computer loaded with openfietsmap for France
Axiom Rainrunner Reflex fenders
Waterbottles and cages (2)
Click-Stand
Helmet
Front and rear lights
Abus Bordo lock

Camping
MSR Hubba NX tent and footprint (modified since my Pyrenees trip for better rain-shedding)
Exped Downmat UL7
Western Mountaineering Ultralite sleeping bag
Fleece pillowcase (fits my light down jacket)
Alite Monarch chair
Camp towel and washcloth
Camp clothesline and pegs
Headlamp

Clothes (packed in MEC packing cubes and sil stuff sacks)
Merino headband (fits under helmet)
Cycling cap (fits under helmet)
Sun hat
Showers Pass rain jacket with detachable hood
Light down jacket
Microfleece jacket
Merino t-shirts (1 short-sleeve, 1 sleeveless)
Light long-sleeve synthetic jersey
Light short-sleeve merino jersey
Sun sleeves
Fingerless bike gloves
Full-finger gloves (wind/water resistant)
Cycling liner shorts (2)
Outer bike shorts (1)
Shorts for off-bike (can ride in these)
Skirt for off-bike
Wind/water resistant cycling pants (these have performed well in rain and are more comfortable for riding in than rain pants and are reasonably presentable off the bike)
SPD bike shoes
Waterproof shoe covers
Walking sandals
Socks and underwear
Swimsuit

Electronics
iPhone
iPad Mini
Camera, 2 lenses, CPL, SD cards, spare battery
Kobo e-reader
Charging cords, plugs and adapters
Headphones
Portable power bank (for charging phone and Garmin)

Tools and spares
For assembling and disassembling my bike (and tightening things that work loose)
For fixing flats
For oiling the chain and cleaning the bike
Plus FibreFix spoke, chain master link, spare nuts and bolts, Tenacious tape, duct tape, zap straps

Misc
Michelin maps (orange regional 1:200 000), all 5 to cover my planned routes
Prescription eyeglasses
Interchangeable lens riding glasses (with reading panes so I can read the maps!)
Spork and cup (upgraded to Ti)
Pocket knife
Toiletries
First aid kit
Electrolyte tablets
Pen
Scrubba laundry bag (I’ll pick up some Genie in France)

Traveling
Bike case
Large duffel bag for panniers
Ortlieb backpack converter (to make it easier to deal with the one pannier I'll use as a carry-on with my handlebar bag; this might stay with my bike case)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 10
Steve Miller/GrampiesDodie has been using a large MEC reusable shopping bag each to carry our carryon panniers. It also doubles as a shopping bag, laundry carrying bag and many other useful purposes.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Jacquie GaudetFor me, having the pannier on my back makes it easier to deal with my handlebar bag, bike case and large duffel. The duffel contains the other three panniers and my rear rack if I can't get it into the bike case; funny how sometimes I can and sometimes I can't.

I've used this system to get through large airports and even six long blocks from the train station to my accommodation in Barcelona. When travelling solo, you have to be able move everything at once by yourself.

Previously, I've left the backpack converter in my bike case but this time I might take it along so I can use a "backpack" instead of my handlebar bag for off-the-bike exploring.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Scott AndersonAnxious to see what you do with that camera you’ll be lugging around. Just tell your partner to be a little patient for a change. That’s always worked well for me,
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Kathleen ClassenI am curious about the wind and water resistant cycling pants. What kind are they? I am trying to figure out what to take...I have water resistant cycling pants I used for commuting and they were fine for that, but I am not sure how they would hold up for hours, and I certainly wouldn’t call them fashionable. I just bought a pair of Sugoi rain pants. They are amazing but very expensive and I can’t decide if they are worth the investment, the weight and the bulk.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Jacquie GaudetI'm pretty sure they are (a former version of) MEC Adanac Tights, but I've had them for years since I didn't cycle to work. However, a couple of years ago I made a 3-day cycling trip to Washington State and on the day I left, it rained all day (though not a drencher). I wore these pants since and they didn't soak through. I hadn't expected such performance!

Al does ride to work and is on maybe his second pair of similar pants. He says the current ones aren't as good as the originals; they leak.

I note that neither his more mine were advertised as waterproof, only water resistant. If I were expecting really cold rain that I'd have to ride in, if I were going to Iceland for example, I'd take some proper seam-sealed, waterproof-breathable pants, but not heavy-duty 3-layer Goretex.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Jacquie GaudetTo Scott AndersonI'm anxious too! Al's pretty patient, but he's a very strong rider and can leave me way behind without much effort on his part.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Jacquie GaudetMake him carry all the bricks.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Jacquie GaudetTo Scott AndersonI often consider that and think about this:

In "No Shortcuts to the Top", Ed Viesturs describes returning to base camp and setting up a tent that one of his climbing partners "had carried all the way to high camp on Makalu" and down again and finding a "softball sized rock inside it". The tent had been carried as a backup so hadn't been set up since the stone had been tossed in as an anchor while demonstrating the tent at base camp.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Steve Miller/GrampiesTo Scott AndersonWhat is the camera make and model? How/why did you choose it?
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Jacquie GaudetI wanted a small digital SLR and that led me to a micro four thirds system. You can find a lot online about the merits and drawbacks of micro four thirds vs full frame sensors, but for me the merits win out.

I looked at Olympus and Panasonic (the partners of M43) and Olympus just made more sense to me. I also wanted a weatherproof system and that narrowed my choices to either an OM-D E-M5 Mii or OM-D E-M1 Mii. I came home with the latter for a few reasons: a much longer-lasting battery, better autofocus system, slightly better image stabilization, and it just felt better in my hands. Unfortunately, it's bigger and more expensive than the M5 Mii (which would have done the job and which I would have bought had I been on a tighter budget).

Since then I've invested in several lenses and will be bringing two with me: my M.Zuiko ED 14-150mm f4.0-5.6 II (weatherproof wide range zoom that's reasonably light and compact) and my M.Zuiko 17mm f1.8 (sadly not weatherproof but tiny, light, and much faster for indoor and low light shots). In fact, Olympus markets these two together as a "travel lens kit".

I should add that I have soft spot for Olympus because my old film camera is an Oly and I love it, and that I've had my current camera with a weatherproof lens mounted out in the rain several times with no issues.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago