Saintes to Rochefort - French Fling - CycleBlaze

May 22, 2019

Saintes to Rochefort

Sunshine!

I was in no hurry to leave this morning since the amphitheater didn't open until 10.  I finally bid my hosts, Françoise and Roger, farewell and rolled my bike out of their garage, wearing my still-wet shoes and nice clean outer shorts (Françoise had offered to wash my soggy socks and anything else for me since she was doing laundry anyway).

I didn't miss a turn this time and my route took me past Basilica Saint-Eutrope,  tho other site I'd wanted to see.  After that, I found my way to the amphitheatre by following last evening's route in reverse.

The entrance to the crypt below Basilica Saint-Eutrope doesn't look like much...
Heart 0 Comment 0
...but then you go in and look to the left and see this.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The tomb of Saint Eutrope. Each column has a different carved capital.
Heart 0 Comment 0
In the crypt, Basilica Saint-Eutrope
Heart 0 Comment 0
Somehow, the main church above doesn't have the same feel.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Basilica Saint-Eutrope
Heart 0 Comment 0
What's left of the amphitheatre, overgrown in green.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I set the self timer for 30 seconds to give myself time to run across the field...
Heart 0 Comment 0
Luckily I set it to take multiple shots!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another spot. I think it's helpful to have a person in there for scale and there weren't too many people around.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I decided not to look for La Flow Vélo because I wanted to ride on actual pavement today.  I took the yellow D114 to Saint-Savinien; why I thought I wanted to go there I'm not sure.  On the way I passed through  Taillebourg.  The name seemed familiar and there's an old castle there, so maybe it was mentioned in some book I read.  There was a beautiful little park by the river there and I should have stopped but I wasn't ready to eat the quiche I'd bought earlier and thought St-Savinien might have something better.

What St-Savinian had was a bridge to Île de la Grenouillette, where there was a pleasant park by the river.  After eating my lunch there, I decided to continue in the left bank and followed various white roads to St-Hippolyte.  A few km back I'd crossed a bike route which I later learned was La Vélodyssée, which approaches from the south well inland and loops around and west into Rochefort. 

Rooftops of St-Savinien from my lunch spot
Heart 0 Comment 0
A country road lined with poplars. I still haven't seen one with plane trees on this trip (except in cities).
Heart 0 Comment 0

As I was studying my map and GPS for options (searching for Rochefort on my Garmin yielded no results!), a woman on a bike asked if I would like some help.  She told me that the road we were on, D123E3, would take me to a bridge "only for bikes".  At the other end I would find the Vélodyssée and I could follow that into Rochefort.

It worked very well. The former road bridge, a quite high suspension bridge, is now maintained for bikes and pedestrians. It was easy to find the Vélodyssée, though I lost it once.  There were no signs indicating that westbound cyclists should cross to the other side of the road, but the markings disappeared and then, from across the street, I saw a westbound marking for a turn.  I think this is what the woman was trying to tell me when she was talking about left and right sides.

The bridge "soulement pour les vélos"
Heart 0 Comment 0
It's a nice old bridge. I like bridges and I think that's why I became a structural engineer.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another view of that magnificent bridge
Heart 0 Comment 0
I was riding along the waterfront and I saw this, so I stopped for a better look.
Heart 0 Comment 0
It took me a while to figure out that this was a sort of jungle gym. It looks like fun! The young woman is standing on a trapeze that's zipping down to the further mast.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another, lower, activity.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Of course, the ship isn't moving in the waves!
Heart 0 Comment 0

I eventually made it to the quite nice municipal camping.  It's actually pretty full, mostly French seniors in camping cars.  Good value too, less than 20€ for two nights.  It's close to the old town but, as I discovered when I went out to find dinner, there's not much in the old town after 7, the usual opening time for restaurants.  I finally found a suitable one (open, not too expensive, not full of young people drinking) in Place Colbert, but the food was mediocre.  I had sautéed prawns, of which there were maybe 10 on the plate, very large and very whole, with a little salad, overcooked zucchini, and rice.  Oh well. Better luck tomorrow.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 57 km (35 miles)
Total: 1,147 km (712 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0