Mende: Rest day,  perhaps - France - CycleBlaze

June 15, 2018

Mende: Rest day,  perhaps

I have discovered that I enjoy these tours best if I can take a rest day ideally every 4th day and today is day 4. There is another opportunity in another 4 days after tomorrow which I will likely take. I wandered the tiown, went to a bike shop for a new water bottle since one of mine was disgusting and of course found some bargains. Most importantly there is a laverie (laundromat) very near our hotel so I have clean clothes. After lunch which was delightful I had a 2 hour nap. When wandering the town I also discovered that there is a famous climb that is part of the Tour de France folklore. In 1995 on 14 July which is Bastille Day in France Frenchman Laurent Jalabert won the stage of the Tour de France that culminated on the top of this climb. In 2005 the city of Mende created a tourist attraction called Montée Jalabert for those who want to challenge the climb. This same climb and finish will occur again in this year’s tour on stage 14, on 21 July. It was neat to ride a stage that will be in the upcoming tour. It took me 24 min but the tour riders will be MUCH faster. The climb is 3km long and I never saw my Garmin go below 12% but much of it was 14%. I now have a new jersy to commurate the event. Off to a new location tomorrow.

The view from our roof top terrace about 5AM today.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The old bridge crossing the Lot river.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another view of the roundabout and fountain with the Tour de France decorations, the town is beginning to decorate for the big day.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A view from our terrace at 11AM.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Montée Jalabert climb profile but I can assure you that my Garmin never went below 12% and I saw a lot of 14%.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A stained glass window in the cathedral commemorating the French fallen for 1914-1918.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The vegetarian lunch.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My chicken lunch. The chef served us personally and explained all about his food and how it was prepared. Magnifique!!
Heart 0 Comment 0
A view of Mende half way up the climb.
Heart 0 Comment 0
At the top.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A road sign on the way down.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My new jersey that I earned so now I can wear it.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The amuse bouche from dinner served on a piece of slate.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The menu for tonight. There was a choice of starter, entrée and dessert.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My chicken dinner, the other optio was fish.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Both desserts, mine is the pineapple and sorbet the other is death by chocolate (70%).
Heart 0 Comment 0
Our group at dinner.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 9 km (6 miles)
Total: 1,100 km (683 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0