Heading home: My time in France comes to an end😢 - France - CycleBlaze

June 24, 2018

Heading home: My time in France comes to an end😢

The name of this trip was the Gorgeous Gorges and this was spot on. It was a very challenging tour but the scenery was spectacular, the rides were fun and my fellow cyclists were wonderful. Sadly our tour leader and company owner is suffering badly with Parkinson’s disease so this year is his last. We are all hoping the company lives on under a new owner because the tours offered are exceptional and well worth doing. I am happy to have done one of his tours but sad that he will not be here to do more. Glen was an extremely accomplished cyclist until Parkinson’s ravaged his body. He remains a very fine gentleman.
I have ridden some of these areas before but they never disappoint and we approached them from different locations. While there were some tough days I loved the views and the challenge. My final stats were 1,778km (1,105mi) for the entire six weeks but 1,019 km (637mi) were ridden in the last two weeks. The climbing for the last two weeks only was 45,600ft. Most importantly zero flats or issues with my bike. I am looking forward to going home and enjoying lovely BC in the summer but I will be back in Provence in June 2019. Au revoir et à bientôt.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0