Castellane to Vence: Done in more ways than one 🏁 - France - CycleBlaze

June 23, 2018

Castellane to Vence: Done in more ways than one 🏁

Before heading out this morning I wandered the streets about 6:30AM. The town square was bustling because they were setting up for a Saturday market. I also took the opportunity to take a few more unobstructed photos of Castellane. I opted for the shortest ride to Vence where we ended the tour. My legs are toast and I did not have it in me to climb a lot or go long. I still rode 74km with 3200’ of climbing. The day started rather rudely with 8km climb averaging 6-7%. However there was a lovely downhill through the Gorge du Loup into Vence. Vence is a lovely place and seems to be much less touristy than Nice.

One of several murals on the building walls in Castellane.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The clock tower and entrance to the upper street.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A lovely door with carved lions and a great knocker.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The main water fountain from medieval times.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another view of the church.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Our hotel, the post office and the rock and chapel this AM.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A last view of Castellane as we climbed out of the valley this AM.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My last Col. There was an opportunity to do one more but I didn’t have it in me and the weather was dicey.
Heart 0 Comment 0
On the descent to lunch.
Heart 0 Comment 0
We had lunch in Gréolieres.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My bruschetta, salad and orangina, no beer.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Gorge du Loup.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A beautiful waterfall on the descent through the Gorge du Loup.
Heart 0 Comment 0
One of many beautiful stone buildings in Vence which is just outside of Nice,
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 74 km (46 miles)
Total: 1,778 km (1,104 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0