South Beach State Park, OR: Layover day. - Four Weeks in Oregon and Idaho - Summer 2006 - CycleBlaze

June 16, 2006

South Beach State Park, OR: Layover day.

I was going to feel really bad if we took a day off and the sun was shining. I awoke in the morning to rain on our tent. I peered outside just in time to see the french fellow take off in the gloom. He had on a bright orange rain suit. I hadn't seen him wear that before. He must have given up and purchased it in Newport while he was doing errands. We didn't talk much, but it was fun to see him in camp every night. I've wondered where he is and how he's doing since.

Jacinto was in seventh heaven as this park had a little hospitality center with coffee! He ultimately had so many coffees that he was embarrassed to go back. I traded in my paperback book for a new one at their used book spot. I reada that all day and Jacinto listened to the World Cup on his XM radio. What a couple of loafers!

It rained hard all morning. I was happy not to be riding. We ate a package of our emergency food. Cabash brand rice pilaf gussied up with dried onions, red peppers, and green peppers. It was tasty. Either our culinary expectations have gone way down, or this brand of rice was better than the brand we practiced on at home.

Our big activity for the day was riding back to the edge of town (but not over that huge bridge) to a seafood place for dinner. Jacinto would have walked, but I wasn't interested in walking 3-4 miles each direction.

Jacinto spent his afternoon listening to the World Cup Soccer on his XM radio. The towel and coat were to keep the mosquitos at bay.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Now this is freshly cooked crab!
Heart 0 Comment 0
We stayed two nights at South Beach State Park. What luxury to not break camp first thing in the morning!
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 7 miles (11 km)
Total: 268 miles (431 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0