MacKay - Arco, Idaho: Final day. - Four Weeks in Oregon and Idaho - Summer 2006 - CycleBlaze

July 7, 2006

MacKay - Arco, Idaho: Final day.

We had a reservation for a UHaul in Arco. It was cheaper to give a 3 day notice, but by the time we spent three days of food and motel - why we might as well get the UHaul. Plus we would get back home for Pirates.

We had a very good, fast run to Arco. The entire trip through Idaho I had been commenting on how little traffic there was. I would always make a big effort to find a stand of trees or some bushes to take a bathroom break behind. Almost always I would make the effort for nothing. Not a single car would pass and I'd be picking weed seeds out of my socks. It had become a running joke with us that I could have peed on the center line and it wouldn't have mattered because there were no cars. Since this was our last day riding, I finally had to do it. This road was a bit busier and I had to time things. But I did go right out on the dotted line and leave a giant puddle. Jacinto got quite a laugh out of me. He didn't think I'd really do it. : )

We picked up the UHaul - changing our clothes in the back of the van. Loaded the bikes up. I felt a bit nostalgic, it seemed only a few days ago (but yet so long ago) that we were loading the bikes up heading to Portland.

The only place I was really looking forward to seeing on the route home was the Lava Hot Springs/Montpelier area. We agreed to stop at the hot springs and to spend the night there. We didn't realize what a tourist area that was. We were lucky to get a room at a very nice B & B where someone hadn't shown up. It had double sheets - which didn't impress Jacinto at all. But I assured him that was a sign of a top notch hostelry.

We went to the hot springs. It was so hot that even Jacinto couldn't stay in for long. It was quite pricey, so we tried getting in and out of the water to get our money's worth. Finally we gave up and went back to the room.

The next morning I was awake early, excited to get home. The drive was long and desolate through Wyoming. I was so happy I wasn't out there battling the heat and the headwinds.

It has puzzled me for months, why our trip ended as it did. I still love touring and have a couple of shorter trips planned for 2007. I don't know why I got so homesick - but I did. And we went home. And I'm still happy we did. I thought later I would be sad we didn't finish the route we planned in the beginning. But even now, a year later, I'm not sad. I had a good time. The bad tire memories have faded and there are many good highlights from the trip.

I guess I need to learn to be loose and go with the flow. Take what I get. To be sure to bring plenty of batteries for the silly camera. My fun factor went way down when I couldn't take photos.

My biggest lesson learned? Tires, tires, tires. In my very professional opinion, I had folded my new spare tire wrong, in a figure 8. I have since learned you are supposed to triple fold it so it looks like a snowman. I think taking just one fold puts too much pressure on the tire and that's why my new tire bulged. This year I am taking two spare tires and I'm not folding them at all. But if I do use all of my spare tires, I'm not going to wait for a bike shop, I'll be ordering a spare right away!

Today's ride: 26 miles (42 km)
Total: 1,246 miles (2,005 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0