West Yellowstone to Ennis, MT: Earthquake Lake ... and a longer day than planned - North from FoCo in NoCo - CycleBlaze

July 2, 2012

West Yellowstone to Ennis, MT: Earthquake Lake ... and a longer day than planned

Al's Westward Ho provided a great night's sleep, but I woke up with sort of a queasy stomach. Not sure if it was a result of last night's dinner or a case of nerves with the decision to keep pedaling. I decided I should have breakfast to fuel the ride so had a quick one and hit the road. The ride through the Montana countryside was absolutely beautiful. Maybe I can retire here. No, maybe I can summer in Montana and winter in Colorado. Whatever, I'll figure it out!

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

About 20 miles into the ride is Earthquake Lake and the visitor's center. I watched the movie explaining the 1958 earthquake and what happened. It's pretty interesting, especially to me that here is geology that happened in my lifetime.

Earthquake Lake
Heart 0 Comment 0
The wind had picked up at the Earthquake Lake Vistor's Center.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I pedalled on from Earthquake Lake, with the wind now kicked up and in my face much of the time. I met a few eastbounders, including a couple with a 2 year old, and stopped with each to chat. The ACA map shows several campsites along the river, and I thought I would stop at the last of these, about 20 miles before the town of Ennis. I turned off the road and went about half a mile to a sign that the campsite is another 2 miles down a dirt road. I made a perhaps questionable decision that a 20 mile ride to town was better than the 2 mile (and return in the morning ) ride on dirt. So I continued into town

There is camping at the fishing access, but I ended up at Ennis RV Village for it's access to drinking water and showers.

Stats
Dist. 78.56
Odo. 6454.9
Mx 37.5
Av 10.5


I didn't see any.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Entering Ennnis.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Moon over Ennis.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
My site at Ennis RV Village
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 79 miles (127 km)
Total: 588 miles (946 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0