Twin Bridges to Dillon: threatening rain - North from FoCo in NoCo - CycleBlaze

July 5, 2012

Twin Bridges to Dillon: threatening rain

The ride from Twin Bridges to Dillon was intended to stage me for the following day's ride from Dillon to Jackson, so it wasn't especially long or challenging. I got up, packed up, and had breakfast at the one open restaurant in Twin Bridges, and hit the road. I never properly said goodbye to Jack and Claire, as we expected to meet at the Espresso shop which turned out to be closed for the 4th (yes, it was the 5th).

The sky was overcast, but the weather report was not calling for rain. I took the ride slowly, stopping to take pictures and read the historical plaques. The route goes past Beaverhead Rock, which was used as a landmark by the early explorers, and which Sacajawea said was called the Beaverhead by her tribe. That answered the question of which name came first, the Beaverhead River or the Beaverhead Rock. The Rock is supposed to look like a Beaver's head when it is swimming.

About 20 miles into the ride, I felt a few drops of rain, and put the pedal to the metal so to speak. There were a few sprinkles as I rode, but no serious rain. I rolled into Dillon, stopped at a Subway for a bite to eat, and then got a room at the Sundowner Motel. I wanted to be away from the mosquitoes and to be able to get a quick start in the morning. I had dinner at the Mexican Food bus and fell asleep early.

Stats
Dist 28.66
odo 6534.4
Max 22.2
Av 8.8

Hay bales...and a cemetery.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The waitress in Virginia City yesterday asked me if I was afraid of snakes on the road. Maybe these guys are the reason I haven't seen any.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Beaverhead Rock.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Beaverhead rock with sculpture.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Mexican Food Bus in Dillon
Heart 1 Comment 0
Where I stayed. An okay place at a reasonable price.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 29 miles (47 km)
Total: 668 miles (1,075 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0