Ryan Park to Saratoga, WY - North from FoCo in NoCo - CycleBlaze

June 18, 2012

Ryan Park to Saratoga, WY

Joining the tour

I had breakfast at The Place in the morning. Breakfast was available at 8:00, so that's when I ate, and with packing up and saying goodbye, I hit the road about 9:00. It's downhill to Saratoga, but there are some local uphill sections, and I gave my granny gear a good work out. I had been told I might pick up a cell signal "down the hill", but no luck. I was still fighting the wind, but made it into Saratoga around lunchtime. A couple of the lead riders from the Bicycle Tour of Colorado were there (coming from Laramie), but I had beat most of the crowd. I checked around town a little bit, and was told camping was available at Saratoga Lake, about a mile outside of town. I rode out to the lake, a mile outside of town and another mile down a dirt road. The water there was labelled as non-potable, and there was no shade at all, so I headed back to town.

I ended up crashing the campsite with the Bicycle Tour of Colorado folks. It's at a community center, and there are lots and lots of Porta-potties set up as well as water taps available. It could be rowdy tonight, but I'll see. After I set up my tent I went to the Hot Springs and got cleaned up. The springs are really hot, too hot in my mind, and in the sun, so I made it pretty quick but showered and washed out my clothes. Then I came here to the library!

Stats:
dist 27.9
odo 5937.2
Max speed 32.1
Av speed 9.1

Heading toward Saratoga. The wind is blowing!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Just for me?
Heart 1 Comment 0
Tent City!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 28 miles (45 km)
Total: 70 miles (113 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0