Missoula, MT to Fort Collins, CO: An airplane is culture shock after 3 weeks on a bike! - North from FoCo in NoCo - CycleBlaze

July 11, 2012

Missoula, MT to Fort Collins, CO: An airplane is culture shock after 3 weeks on a bike!

I got up and had coffee and oatmeal with Ethel. Joe left early, and Ethel and I chatted a bit and then I got my things ready to leave. I had everything loaded into the duffel, and stepped onto Ethel's bathroom scale. Based on the difference between just me and me plus my stuff, the stuff is 35 pounds. Not too bad since it includes camping equipment, but still pretty heavy. And it looks as if I've lost maybe 8 pounds on the trip.

Ethel and I took pictures, and then Ethel walked me to the bus stop. I'm sorry I missed Joe in the picture! The bus came on time, and the transfer and ride to the airport were easy. I wish all towns had such good public transport.

Ethel and her dog Ellie
Heart 0 Comment 0

I had a bit of a wait for the airplane. I checked my bag and wandered around the small airport, and finally settled down with my kindle and a novel. When the plane arrived we boarded. I was in the last boarding group, but still beat my seat-mate onto the plane. There was a bit of shuffling as a couple with the window seats in the row tried to get next to each other, and I ended up sitting next to a big guy. A really big guy, with music playing loudly through his headphones and sitting with his knees splayed out to the side. It was not a comfortable ride, but fortunately the flight was direct to Denver and only 2 hours. In Denver, I booked a shuttle to Fort Collins with GreenRide. I'd like to say that I was promptly home, but I had to wait about an hour for the shuttle, and we got stuck in the rush hour road-construction-delayed traffic, so in a few hours, I was home. And the trip was over.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0