Missoula: Getting ready to head home - North from FoCo in NoCo - CycleBlaze

July 10, 2012

Missoula: Getting ready to head home

I had four goals for today:

(1) Arrange for a bike shop to pack and ship my bike,

(2) Find a cheap duffel bag to consolidate my belongings for the airplane ride,

(3) Book my frequent flier plane ticket,

(4) Figure out how to get to the airport.

I accomplished all of the goals, except that the duffel bag I found was not especially cheap!

I started the day on my bike visiting thrift shops looking for a duffel bag. It seems like there has been a run on cheap duffels in Missoula, and I wasn't having any luck. I stopped by Missoula Bicycle Works, and arranged for them to pack and ship the bike. They scheduled packing for tomorrow, which beats out Open Road who said they couldn't pack until Friday. At MBW, I scheduled the service and arranged to drop the bike off later in the day. Then I continued my search for a duffel bag. I ended up across the river, downtown, and stopped for an early lunch at the diner. I had a big breakfast burrito, and it was pretty good.

Then I stopped by the ACA office for advice on finding a duffel. I was thinking would have to visit REI, not especially close, but they suggested I go to a shop called Trail Head. There was another rider at the office, looking for a safety whistle, so we went together. Jack from Wisconsin got his whistle, and I got my duffel, although it was quite fancy and expensive. It has some straps that can be used to make it into a backpack and is well made, and I think I'll get a lot of use out of it instead of treating it as disposable as I had anticipated. Jack and I had coffee back at the diner. Then he continued on his ride, and I took a short ride up the river trail. It was threatening to rain, and indeed there were a few drops and thunder, and the trail was uncomfortably bumpy, so I turned around.

I went by the bike shop and left my bike. I also asked them to pack my stove and cookset with the bike. The mechanic at the bike shop asked if I wanted to approve the shipping price before the bike went out, but I pointed out that I needed the bike to go home and wasn't going to choose not to ship it! Then I walked back to Ethel's house. I went online and booked my plane ticket, and called the bus company and got information about how to take the bus to the airport. Goals accomplished!

Today's ride: 10 miles (16 km)
Total: 875 miles (1,408 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0