Madison Campground to West Yellowstone: Out of the park, into a hotel - North from FoCo in NoCo - CycleBlaze

July 1, 2012

Madison Campground to West Yellowstone: Out of the park, into a hotel

I left Madison Campground at about 7:30 after a rough night. It's a beautiful campground by the river, but the hiker biker sites are at the entrance right next to the road, and there was traffic all night. Also the nearest RV was running it's heater off and on all night and it was noisy. The ride into West Yellowstone was short and sweet, but something was rubbing on my back wheel and since it was down hill I didn't bother to stop to unload the bike to see what it was.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

When I got into town I stopped at the tourist office. They suggested I stay at Al's Westward Ho Motel for the night and that I book the room immediately, recommended a few places for breakfast, and showed me where the bike shop is. I went and booked the room and was told not to come back until 4:00, then had a good breakfast, and went to the bike shop. I unloaded the bike and was disappointed to see that the brakes were rubbing.

That's after the "fix" in Lander. At any rate, it was a simple adjustment. I also borrowed a floor pump to top off my tires. No charge from the shop, Free Heel and Wheel, so I spent a bit of money on socks - Bike Yellowstone Park socks. So, I've been there, done that, got the socks.

Been there, done that, got the socks.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Then hung out for a while, went to the Imax Yellowstone show. Then I went by the hotel, hoping I could sit in the lobby until check-in, but found it all locked up. So I went back to the Imax theater and saw the "Bears" show. I enjoyed both of the Imax shows. Then I finally was able to check in at the hotel. I had been warned by other cyclists that I would have to put my bike into a storage room, but without me even asking, the clerk at the front desk told me she had given my a ground floor room so I could easily bring my bike in! It's a nice room with a kitchenette, with the decor dating to the 1950's. I'd recommend it. Then had a nice dinner. Beef bulgogi....definitely American style.

Library is closed....still no picture upload.

Stats
dist 17.89
odo 6376.3
Max 20.0
Av 9.5


The kitchenette in my room at Al's. I think the fridge is from the 1950's, and it still works!
Heart 0 Comment 0
The hotel in West Yellowstone.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 15 miles (24 km)
Total: 509 miles (819 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0