Jackson to May Creek Campground: Big Hole Battle Field - North from FoCo in NoCo - CycleBlaze

July 7, 2012

Jackson to May Creek Campground: Big Hole Battle Field

This was another staging day, to get ready for the climb over Chief Joseph Pass tomorrow.

I left Jackson early. The Inn and the restaurant in town don't open for breakfast until 8:00. I broke my rule of not breaking rules and fired up my campstove for some oatmeal and coffee, and was gone by 7:30.

The ride took me through the town of Wisdom. I stopped for a break and another breakfast. Wisdom is the last town before Chief Joseph Pass, but I decided to go on to see the Big Hole Battlefield and planned to camp at the USFS site before the pass.

Big Hole Battlefield and Visitor's Center is definitely worth seeing. I stopped and took my time there. I asked the ranger some questions, and she put on the half hour on-demand video for me. I don't know my U.S. history as well as I ought to, and it was interesting and somehow depressing to learn about the interactions between the settlers and the Indians.

I went on to the USFS campground at May Creek. The mosquitoes started swarming the moment I stopped. I questioned whether I should stay there, but decided I really didn't want to ride the Pass in the heat of the day. So I got into my long pants and long sleeves as quickly as I could, and put up my tent. Later in the day, as I was hiding in my tent listening to the book "Watership Down" on my Ipod, a ranger came by to say that there was a presentation at the big campfire ring. I went on up. There was a fire lit, which was too hot for the weather, but with the smoke keeping away the bugs. The presentation was about horses and was given by a guy named Redfeather. I learned that horses were not native to America, but were brought there by the European explorers. Redfeather showed a bunch of Indian horse ornaments with fancy beadwork. One item had skunk skins. Upon questioning, he explained that skunks were warrior animals. After all, who wants to do battle with a skunk? The skunk will always win! After the presentation, I was invited in to a trailer by another couple at the campground. We exchanged stories for a bit and drank wine until the sun started to set at about 9:30. Then I retired to my tent and faded out.


Riding along.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The old Bike Route 76 sign in Wisdom.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Leaving Wisdom. The birds were swarming at the bridge.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I thought this was a good idea....Don't text and drive, and all that....but there was no cell signal in Wisdom, so what was the point? I didn't stop, but someone later told me that there was an isolated spot here on the road where there is indeed a cell signal. It's a reflection of some sort, and the signal is strong!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Stats
dist 36.77
odo 6620.0
Max 34.4
Av 10.4

Today's ride: 37 miles (60 km)
Total: 754 miles (1,213 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0