Epilogue - North from FoCo in NoCo - CycleBlaze

July 12, 2012

Epilogue

This was a good trip.

It is a little strange, traveling without a well-defined destination. I really liked taking each day as it came, but I think overall it would be better to have a specific goal. Before I reached Missoula, I had decided I would stop there, but I keep wondering if a little rest time would have been adequate and then I would have been happy to keep riding. I'll never know! I think my next trip will have a specific destination.

My equipment seemed well-suited to the trip. I used everything I brought with me except the long-fingered bicycle gloves and most of the bike tools. I'd like to get the load lighter for another trip, but that would involve re-thinking my whole approach. I was glad to have the warm clothes, as there were quite a few cold nights and early morning starts. My sleeping bag is losing quite a bit of down, so it may be due for replacement. And I still need to decide if it is worth investing in new panniers, maybe a bit bigger (so packing is easier, not to carry more equipment!) and without zippers.

I did not have a full bike tune-up before the trip. I replaced some components as needed, but I think I could have used a full tune-up including lubing all the bearings. Maybe if I had planned a longer trip I would have done that, but it didn't seem especially needed when I thought I was doing a shorter trip.

I met a lot of interesting people along the way, both cyclists and non-cyclists. I didn't do an especially good job documenting or recording the people I met. Once I realized I had missed a few people, then it seemed like I had a trend and didn't make an effort to take pictures or record names. Next time I will. And I might opt for a better camera. My little Fuji is small and convenient, but the xD card seems really slow and is outdated. I could also consolidate the charger with a camera with a USB connector. I may think about a tablet or netbook for my next ride. There is WiFi available a lot of places, but actual computers available in very few. It would be much easier to keep friends and family, and this journal, uptodate with a computer rather than just my phone.

And that's it.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0