Ennis to Twin Bridges: Over the pass to Virginia City - North from FoCo in NoCo - CycleBlaze

July 4, 2012

Ennis to Twin Bridges: Over the pass to Virginia City

I got off to a slow start. I haven't complained too much about the insects, but I've been pretty well bitten up. Yesterday something got me on the face, and my face was swollen. I took some benadryl before going to sleep, but woke up this morning much worse. There is an urgent care clinic down the road from the RV park, and I was hoping they would be open despite the holiday. The sign on the door said they open at 8 am, and there was also a sign that the business office was closed for the holiday. I took that to mean that the clinic itself would be open. So I waited. They didn't open. I talked to someone in the parking lot who said that they would not open. I rode into town hoping to talk with the pharmacist, who can sometimes offer advice. The pharmacy was open, but the pharmacist was not in. One of the clerks suggested I go back to the clinic but to the hospital side, and talk with one of the nurses. So back I went. I saw one of the nurses, who wanted a doctor to look at it, which could only happen if I went into the ER. After some consideration, after all the ER seemed extreme for a bug bite, I went in. That's why I have insurance, right? I saw the doctor who agreed it was very swollen but thought it was just a reaction to the bite and recommended just continuing to take benadryl. He said not to worry about being in the sun or smearing my face with sunscreen, and sent me on my way. The words "infection" and "cellulitis" were mentioned before he decided it was just a reaction, so before I left they gave me an antibiotic to use if it became painful or even more swollen. (I'm writing this a couple of days later and it has been getting better - no need for the antibiotics.)

I went back to the pharmacy and picked up more benadryl. During my back and forth trips, the street was lined with people waiting for the parade. I was getting to know them! After restocking, I was anxious to hit the road and did not wait to see the parade. I just headed out of town and up the long steep hill that would bring me to Virginia City. 

Starting the hill to Virginia City
Heart 1 Comment 0

 It was quite a climb, past lots of mooing cows. I stopped a couple of times to catch my breath, once to talk with an eastbounder, and after 10 or so miles made it to the summit. 

Climbing....
Heart 1 Comment 0

 

At the top!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Over the summit and my speed picks up: 5 mph, 7 mph, 9 mph, 9.5 mph, 9.5 mph....what? It seemed stuck so I got off my bike to see if there was a problem. Wind, yes, in my face. Brakes dragging, no. Tire problem, no. So I got back on the bike and eventually got my speed happily into the 30+ mph regime.

I arrived in Virginia City to find it chock full of tourists. I went into a cafe for lunch, found it full, asked if it was okay if I sat at the counter, and was told "only if you're not in a hurry". So I sat down, and had my lunch in a reasonable amount of time. Then I went looking for an old friend of mine. I actually know someone who lives in Virginia City, but we've been out of touch for a while and I wasn't able to reach her in advance of my trip. The woman in the Millinery store said she knows her well, and that she is out of town returning after the 4th. So I wrote my friend a short note for when she's back, and continued on my way, eventually rolling into Twin Bridges.

Montana pastoral. Down from Virginia City, cruising toward Twin Bridges.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Twin Bridges actually has only one bridge. But just over the bridge and next to the river is a cyclists camp, run by the city. I arrived there to find a couple of people lounging. They were from Missoula and doing a short loop tour in Montana, and gave me a quick rundown on the campsite. Most importantly, there was a shower with hot water! I showered, took advantage of the bike rack to lube my chain, and decided to cook supper. I took my stove and food to a picnic table that was in the shade, and before I had set up, another cyclist rolled up. This was a local, someone who said he was the only cyclist in Twin Bridges, had done some touring in his youth, and helped out all the tourers coming through. He seemed just to want to talk. The other cyclists, Jack and Claire, joined us, and we chatted for quite a while. I was hungry, and it didn't seem that the conversation was winding down at all, so I finally just started up the stove to prepare my Ramen and tuna. Slowly things broke up and I got to eat. Jack and Claire found the one open restaurant in town, and I joined them for a short while with a cold drink. Eventually we went back to the camp, I set up my tent, and went to sleep.

Stats
dist 46.86
odo 6505.7
Max 35.8
Av 8.6

Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 47 miles (76 km)
Total: 639 miles (1,028 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0