Crowheart to Dubois: Thank goodness for the Episcopalians - North from FoCo in NoCo - CycleBlaze

June 25, 2012

Crowheart to Dubois: Thank goodness for the Episcopalians

Posted via email Mon Jun 25 17:53:01 2012 PDT

I got up and made instant oatmeal in the church kitchen, packed up and hit the road. It was already windy at 7 am, and a flag flying at the general store verified that it was a straight headwind. I struggled for about 10 miles until it calmed down. Then the road followed the river for a while, and the scenery changed. The views along the river were quite spectacular, especially with some of the red rocks. The wind kicked up again for the last few miles into Dubois, and I took the opportunity to stop and see if I had any cell reception and a message from my warmshowers host. My cell is on roaming, but I did have a message that the WS Guy had a change in plan and was no longer available. On to plan B, not yet formulated. 

I went into town and was looking around when I heard "yoo-hoo". It was one of the ladies from the church in Crowheart. To make a long story short, I'm staying at the Episcopal church in Dubois. I unloaded my bike at the church, and then went to the KOA for a shower. The KOA would have been the first plan B. Then I walked through town in a bit of a cloudburst, bought some groceries, and had dinner at the Cowboy Cafe, which has a well deserved reputation. I sat outside through another cloudburst and enjoyed the meal. When I went inside to pay, I was surprised at how busy it was, as I'd been the only person outside.

I've been asking about the weather for tomorrow, as my cell phone shows thunderstorms through tomorrow and I don't want to try to rode Togwotee Pass in a thunderstorm. Apparently the NWS says clear but breezy, so I'll see in the morning.

dist 31.42
odo 6204
Mx 27.4
Av 6.9

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 31 miles (50 km)
Total: 340 miles (547 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0