Another day off ... this one in Ennis: Too windy to ride - North from FoCo in NoCo - CycleBlaze

July 3, 2012

Another day off ... this one in Ennis: Too windy to ride

I got up early and did my laundry at the RV park Laundromat. By the time it was finished, there were signs of life at some of the other sites, but before long a crazy wind had kicked up. It collapsed my next door neighbor's tent! Looked like a broken tent pole and a need for more stakes. It was a big cabin style tent, but nonetheless.... It would be a headwind to Virginia City. I spoke with the campground manager and arranged to stay another night. Ennis is known for it's 4th of July celebration with a rodeo tonight and parade and more rodeo tomorrow. Not sure how much I'll watch, but it could be fun.

I went into town and had some breakfast, wandered through the shops, and passed some time in the Lions Club park. Before long, the sky was overcast and looking like rain. I headed back to the RV park and made sure my stuff was undercover, moving my bike under the roof at the reception building. The office staff let me use their computer, so I spent some time uploading photos from the past week or so. And sure enough, there were several short but intense downpours. In the middle of one, Miles, a westbound TransAm'er showed up. I shared my tent site with him. We had some good conversation and decided to have dinner at the fairly upscale restaurant next to the RV park. We dashed across the parking lot in the rain, only to find the restaurant very busy and over-committed with 4th of July revelers. After some discussion, they took pity on the poor cyclists, and agreed to prepare dinner for us, but to go. So we brought it back to the RV park and ate the fancy meal from a box with plastic utensils. It was really good, and the to-do distracted me from the rodeo which would have been a bike ride possibly in the rain returning in the dark. So after fine dining, I organized my stuff for a morning departure and went to sleep.

Ennis is all about fly fishing.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 4 miles (6 km)
Total: 592 miles (953 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0