Healing Practitioners - Grampies Go to Florida Spring 2015 - CycleBlaze

March 25, 2015

Healing Practitioners

Today was my first physio appointment. We were impressed by the young man's understanding of the situation, and the clarity of his explanations. He also avoided any hint that the ranges of motion he was measuring were pathetic, as they certainly seemed to me. He did mention a time frame for the treatment - four months. If that is right, maybe we will be back on the road in time for what were our next planned trips anyway. On the other hand, he sent me home with three movements, needing to do 20 reps each twice a day. On my first try, I gave up after 5 reps. But I have a secret weapon, a live in coach, and she is saying "get back on it" even as I try to type this!

I also have two other secret weapons (at least). These practitioners use voodoo like techniques, and stand to be just as effective as the physio. (Actually, it was the physio who explained that much of the problem is mental, or perhaps neurological. The body (mind) he says, tries to guard the injured area and resists motion, whereas motion is what it needs to ultimately heal. So one must be trained to move the injured parts, within the limits of reasonable pain.)

The physio provided for a stick, with which the good arm could move the injured one. However my voodoo doctors use "Magformers". One preparation was for me, one for Dodie, and described this way:

"It's kind of a diamond shape with three points coming out of the top. The magic "comes out of the three points and out the door and to Victoria. It helps Grandpa Steve get better."

Not to be outdone, Evelyn made a rainbow and flower for Dodie. "The rainbow is on my head and the flower on my tummy!""

The magic comes out the top and goes to Victoria.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Head and tummy based medicine. (This kid knows Science - that tee shirt is from CERN!)
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0