Day 9: To Rufus - Florence - Missoula - Salt Lake City 2013 - CycleBlaze

August 9, 2013

Day 9: To Rufus

Today was supposed to be a rest day, but I need to get 22 easy miles down the road to Rufus Junction because from there it will be 80 miles to the next town.

I slept late and got away from the motel a little after 11 AM. Last thing I did was heat the container of leftover Chinese food in the microwave. I ate it in the park across the street.

I pedaled east through The Dalles on US 30. Mostly flat, with a tailwind.

Downtown The Dalles.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Clock Tower Ales in The Dalles. Maybe a former courthouse?
Heart 0 Comment 0

After 4 miles US 30 merges onto I-84. I pedaled 10 flat easy tailwind miles with the trucks on I-84. Constantly weaving around tire debris on the shoulder. Decent mountain views, but the expanse of asphalt to my left obstructs the view of the river most of the time.

Columbia river and I-84 east of The Dalles.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I exited where OR 206 begins. It stays adjacent to I-84 for several miles, crossing the mouth of the Deschutes river. I went into the state park and looked at the river, pondering how I first saw it 2500 feet higher than this.

Mouth of the Deschutes river, where it flows into the Columbia river.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The wind turbines begin a few miles east of The Dalles, after leaving the Columbia Gorge National Scenic Area. I will see nonstop wind turbines for the next 100 miles.

Multiple roads and railroads along the Columbia river.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The Columbia Gorge is a busy transportation corridor. After exiting I-84 I could still hear the truck and train traffic nearby.

A tiny piece of the Oregon trail that wasn't destroyed to make way for highways and railroads.
Heart 0 Comment 0

It was 94F when I arrived in Rufus Junction at 3:20 PM. The elevation is very low and I'm away from the moderating influence of the Pacific Ocean. Rufus Junction is at the intersection of I-84 and US 97, at one of the few bridges across the Columbia river. It has 2 truck stops, 3 motels, 3 convenience stores, McDonalds and Subway, but no houses.

Grain elevator at Rufus.
Heart 0 Comment 0
US 97 bridge at Rufus.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I got my reserved room at Dinty's Motor Inn. $45, with an unobstructed view of the river. In the evening a big dust storm blew through, followed by lightning and 20 minutes of rain. The dust storm made me thankful I didn't camp at the state park across the river.

Today was very easy, so hopefully I will be well rested for tomorrow's long ride.

Distance: 23.1 miles (37 km)
Climbing: 473 feet (143 m)
Average Speed: 11.6 mph (18.6 km/h)

Today's ride: 23 miles (37 km)
Total: 431 miles (694 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0