Day 26: Rest day in West Yellowstone - Florence - Missoula - Salt Lake City 2013 - CycleBlaze

August 26, 2013

Day 26: Rest day in West Yellowstone

I slept until 9:30. With the big window wide open the room temperature dropped from 75F to 67F overnight. I paid for one more night and went back to the room to rest still more.

In the afternoon I gathered up various maps, brochures, and receipts, plus the bandanna that I got from Adventure Cycling Association and went to the post office to mail them home.

I explored the town a bit, but generally tried to do as little as possible. I noticed that the prices in stores and restaurants are very high. Typical of a large tourist resort with no nearby competition. I also noticed license plates from all over the U.S. and Canada. And I heard many languages spoken on the sidewalks.

No rain today but it was mostly cloudy and humid in the afternoon. The weather forecast says that the tropical moisture streaming in from Baja will persist for another week. It's frustrating to have such persistently unstable weather. I vividly remember the good weather I had during my 2004 Yellowstone/Grand Tetons bike tour that was also in late summer.

Shopping strip next to my motel in West Yellowstone.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I still felt tired after resting all day. I plan to travel tomorrow, but may abort my planned route through Yellowstone National Park. Instead I could stay west of the park at lower elevations that are less prone to thunderstorms. That route has less climbing and more lodging opportunities (lodging in Yellowstone is $200+ per night and fully booked months in advance). Final decision tomorrow morning.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0