Day 11: To Walla Walla, Washington - Florence - Missoula - Salt Lake City 2013 - CycleBlaze

August 11, 2013

Day 11: To Walla Walla, Washington

I slept until 8:30 and left the motel at 9:50, still feeling tired. Fortunately today is shorter and flatter than yesterday.

Big Tex in northeast Oregon?
Heart 0 Comment 0

I left Umatilla heading east on US 730. The first 7 miles had no river view but afterwards was 20 spectacular miles along the river. The cliffs re-appear, but the road stays remarkably level. And I had morning shade from the cliffs to my southeast.

Roadside campground on Lake Wallula.
Heart 0 Comment 0
US 730 along the Columbia river/Lake Wallula.
Heart 0 Comment 0

US 730 crosses back into the state of Washington a few miles before it connects to US 12.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Turning east on US 12 takes me away from the Columbia river for good. Now I follow the Touchet river upstream. I don't understand how there can be so much irrigation from such a tiny river.

The irrigated zones really stand out.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Traffic was heavy all day. The highways have a decent paved shoulder but the experience was hardly serene.

This place has seen better times.
Heart 0 Comment 0

After a few miles I entered the golden rolling hills of the southern Palouse. I enjoyed the open views. Thin clouds appeared in the afternoon, so the temperature didn't get much above 90F. That's good because shade is rare.

Golden wheat stubble.
Heart 0 Comment 0

US 12 becomes a divided highway in Walla Walla. I took the downtown exit and pedaled around downtown Walla Walla (942 feet elevation). Most of it is very charming. The town seems fairly prosperous. With a population of 32,000 Walla Walla is the biggest town I've seen since Springfield, 10 days ago.

Walla Walla.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Walla Walla.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Walla Walla.
Heart 0 Comment 0
One developer had grand plans for the city in the 1920's.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I got a $60 room at the Travelodge east of downtown and had a high calorie dinner at a Mexican restaurant. But mostly I just want to rest as much as possible.

Today had 20 spectacular miles along the Columbia river, followed by a scenic transition to the southern Palouse. The terrain is gentle and the weather wasn't as hot as it could have been. It was a good day.

Distance: 59.7 miles (96 km)
Climbing: 1448 feet (439 m)
Average Speed: 12.4 mph (20 km/h)

Today's ride: 60 miles (97 km)
Total: 584 miles (940 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0