Oudenaarde - Ghent: do you believe in miracles? - A Flanders Fling - CycleBlaze

June 7, 2017

Oudenaarde - Ghent: do you believe in miracles?

Our B&B was a boutique B&B, everything was small but beautiful. The little breakfast was also elegant with miniature croissants, rolls and samples of muesli. Not exactly a cyclist's breakfast, but never mind, we found a bakery later.

Cute decoration outside the B&B
Heart 2 Comment 0

The sky was dark with heavy grey clouds and it was a blustery ride on a narrow path following the Schelde. We had no rain and the wind was pushing us along, a good ride - although I didn't always feel comfortable when the elite cyclists raced past. I know they have the skill to manoeuvre at close range and high speed, but I need a little more time and space and felt slightly threatened when they whizzed by.

Windy and grey, but dryHere the bicycle path is still wide, later on it was more picturesque but quite narrow.
Heart 1 Comment 0
A barge on the Schelde
Heart 2 Comment 0

We had changed our direction and were no longer riding west but heading north. Do you believe in miracles? The wind had changed, too, and we had another day with tailwinds. I would have hated to fight today's wind.

View from the bike path
Heart 3 Comment 0
A windy day
Heart 1 Comment 0

When we got into the city I saw that Ghent's streets were ... tram tracks - and I got off and pushed. Riding on a narrow strip of cobblestones between the curb and the track, or between the tracks and then retreating quickly when a tram came wasn't my thing. Janos rode ahead and waited at the intersections. Maybe I'm a wimp?

Our hotel room was long and narrow with a kitchenette. We could bring our bikes up in the elevator and the room was big enough to accomodate all four of us. The furnishings were spartan - bunk beds and hard chairs. I'm whining now. It wasn't a pleasant room at all. The good thing was that we were within walking distance of the historic center.

We could keep our bikes in our room.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I had suspected it for several days now but hoped I was mistaken. I knew the symptoms and there was no denying it, the UTI was not gone. Again I called a doctor and was advised to go to the out-patient section of the hospital. We walked. I was not riding my bike in Ghent. The locals seem oblivious but I envisioned my front wheel getting caught in a tram track and me flying on my face.

It was a long walk to the hospital. They did a blood test, a urin test, an ultrasound scan of my bladder and kidneys and prescribed a new antibiotic. I had an infection, otherwise everything was fine. They also asked me to call back in three days for the results of the urin analysis. Only then could they be sure if the prescribed antibiotic would be effective. It was another long walk to find a pharmacy that was open after closing hours.

They meant business.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Jan Palfijn General Hospital Ghent We got lost inside the first time we went, couldn't remember where we came in, didn't know how to get out.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 32 km (20 miles)
Total: 580 km (360 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0