Stuck in Canandaigua?: Maybe not - The Final Leg: A Sea Cruise, Niagara Falls, and Old Ironsides - CycleBlaze

September 17, 2012

Stuck in Canandaigua?: Maybe not

My saddle is broke. The fiberglass cushion support is split longitudinally parallel to the frame. Accounts for my being tilted to the right all the way

from Milwaukee. Wonder the bottom didn't fall out from under me on one of those

35 mph downhill plunges yesterday.

The good news. A shop in Rochester has agreed to let me have the saddle off a

bent in stock. 45 minutes via rental car. Even sent me a picture to verify compatibility. Juan is good.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Whoops, Juan screwed up. In spite of my detailed phone description of the attach

system for the seat, the one Juan had would not work. (Most bike shops know little to nothing about recumbents.) Had I known this, would have been no need for a rent car, etc. Could have gone to Home Depot here in Canandaigua for a possible jury rig fix that Oren suggested.

Plan B: Head to Home Depot in Henrietta and see if they could cobble the seat back together with some plywood and screws. Jim could. Jim did. With a little

help from Mark. And me. Will it hold 'til Boston? IDK.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Home Depot fix. Lasted about 3 minutes of riding.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Will spend the night again in Canandaigua, stealth camp this time Spoon.

Quiz: what broke on my bicycle?

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0