Spoon Creates a Monster: Hadley to St Clair - The Final Leg: A Sea Cruise, Niagara Falls, and Old Ironsides - CycleBlaze

September 9, 2012

Spoon Creates a Monster: Hadley to St Clair

On the bike trail today, I passed a sweet young thing pedaling a comfort bike in flip flops. I was so proud of myself for going so fast. Spoon was behind me.

Intervals said Spoon last night. "Harpo, your problem is your leg muscles are

used to 12 mph. You gotta teach them to go faster. Do intervals. Run it up to

15 mph for awhile. Then drop back. Repeat, repeat, repeat."

I did. It worked. By ignoring the screaming protest from my legs, I found myself

moving along at 17-18 mph on some smooth flats. Couple of ibuprofens muffled the

protest. This went on all day. It actually begin to feel strangely good. Spoon

said "I've created a monster." My ego is puffed and Spoon is no longer frustrated. Win, Win.

I shall soak in a tub of hot water tonight, hoping that I can walk in the morning.

It was a glorious Fall day in Eastern Michigan. We enjoyed some smooth rural highways, some rough and tedious state highways, and a magnificent paved trail that ended at the town of Richmond and a huge parade. Harold the cigar guy said it was the longest parade in Michigan.

You're not suppose to ride with ear buds stuck to your head. Can't hear traffic sounds. My theory is that's what I've got a rearview mirror for. To look for traffic. Besides, if you're gonna get creamed, hearing the perp ain't gonna stop it. Anyway, I'm really enjoying that mp3 gadget.

I'm also enjoying the gadget I'm typing this on. A 3 year old Dell netbook I

borrowed from my granddaughter Montana. With Windows XP. Friendlier OS than the

newer Windows 7. Pics edited in Picassa. Can't do much about Spoon's.

Michigan Geese Gaggle(Spoon)
Heart 0 Comment 0
The place for pie and wifi in Atkins Michigan. These folks pointed us to the excellent bike trail to Richmond.(Spoon's shot, of course)
Heart 0 Comment 0
We don't think so!
Heart 0 Comment 0
On the trail to Richmond.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
That's Harold on the left letting Spoon sniff his cigar. Spoon like the smell of cigar smoke. I just chew them. No smoking. Even for Spoon.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Look Mommy
Heart 0 Comment 0
Waited 30 minutes before bucking the parade line to get across
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Checking in at the St Clair Inn, right on the St Clair river. Canada in sight.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Quiz: What are "intervals?" What did they help me do? What did Harold do for Spoon?

Today's ride: 58 miles (93 km)
Total: 246 miles (396 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0