Introduction: Back to the Atlantic - The Final Leg: A Sea Cruise, Niagara Falls, and Old Ironsides - CycleBlaze

August 15, 2012

Introduction: Back to the Atlantic

First dip was in St Augustine as part of a three stage crossing of the lower US. This time, We'll redip our wheels where the Atlantic touches Boston, thus completing, for me, a 2nd crossing of the US, again in three unconnected stages, longitude determining the restart points. Pedaling will begin in Milwaukee for the sea cruise across Lake Michigan.

Oren Wright of North Little Rock will be my travel buddy and navigator once again. He likes to navigate and is more of a detail person than me. Besides, he's usually a mile ahead. I've dubbed us Oscar and Felix to reflect our personalities. If you're old enough, you'll figure it out. Otherwise, consult Google.

Most x-country tourist head for Bar Harbor, Maine on the ACA route. Boston sounds like a more interesting place to target, and it fits in nicely with my desire to go to NYC to see the World Trade Center Memorial. Besides, it closer to Milwaukee than Bar Harbor.

We, or at least I, hope to time this ride to catch some leaf color in New England. Oren is no fan of cold weather, but he'll manage.

Gonna be fun. Always is.

NOTE on 9/23: I've added quiz questions to each page for my grandkids. And you too for that matter. There's a reward for them, a bribe to get them to read the journal.

Felix, ops, Oren
Heart 0 Comment 0
Oscar
Heart 0 Comment 0

Daily Quiz: What do I want to see in Boston and what role did it play in US history?

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0