Into Each Life a Little Rain Must Fall: Dain to Niagara Falls - The Final Leg: A Sea Cruise, Niagara Falls, and Old Ironsides - CycleBlaze

September 14, 2012

Into Each Life a Little Rain Must Fall: Dain to Niagara Falls

Spoon's take: This was to be my final day, as planned when I joined Harpo for his third segment of the NT. Son Jeff had never seen NF, so to avoid shipping and public transport of bike and body, he drove up in my car to meet us. This had been a splendid tour for me; reasonably slow, mostly flat and with delightful tailwinds the entire route. Jeff was there waiting for us when we crossed over into the good old USA. It had started looking like it could rain by this time, but what the hey, I was finished and not a drop wet the pavement under my wheels!

Harpo and Jeff took the "maid of the mist" boat under the falls and it was certainly misty for it started raining in earnest about the time they boarded. While it may have taken some of the spectacle out of it, both seemed to think it was fantastic. My bike was safely clamped onto my car carrier and Harpo's bike was left in the admission building. As we had a long drive home to KC area (1000 mi) Jeff and I started drving right away. I really felt sorry for Harpo; here it was cold and raining hard, he was going to be by himself, and he hated riding in moisture. I knew he would grab a motel somewhere in the city and boy, he hates to spend those motel bucks.

But I had my 500 miles of riding in and was ready to go home, was never really overly tired and still had my legs under me. He had been a fun tour buddy, as usual, he'd picked up on some good riding skills, and there were "honey-do's" waiting. Can't wait to do another somewhere this fall or winter. Ya can't beat the feeling of wanting to go again after a long ride, eh?

Buddies
Heart 0 Comment 0

Yeah. It rained today. But not before we reached the Falls and the Maid of the Mist, that

must do boat ride into the mouth of the cauldron.

Left the Battle's about 9 am, after being fed and watered. Several miles later, the bike

trail showed itself, running along a canal, with a major detour. We reached the turn toward

Niagara, crossed the canal, and headed eastward on another 'Death' Highway. Does seem like

the powers that be would make sure a major highway leading to the States would be top quality.

Not. Bumpy, heavy traffic, and no shoulder. We've had experience.

After a Starbucks next to the crossing, we paid the Crown an irritating 0.50 to go through

a turn stile and ride our bikes across the Rainbow Bridge on the pedestrian walk, traffic

backed way up. The US border guard lightly chastised us for not being in the traffic lane.

No sign on the Canadian side saying we could not ride in the pedestrian lane. The sign was

on the US side.

Didn't take long to find Jeff. Spoon seemed very glad to see him after having to look at me for 14 days. I understand. Jeff and I hired the Maid of the Mist for the required wetting. $15.50. Spoon had done the same years back. It was all you've read about and more. Started raining while aboard. Needed blue skies

for the best pictures.

Back in the visitor's center where Spoon was sort of guarding my bike, we said our good byes. Jeff and Spoon headed back to Kansas City. My mind turned

toward Boston.

I rigged me and the bike for riding in rain, including plastic grocery sacks for shoe covers. Idea from my buddy Oren Wright. Worked well. 8 miles east, I checked on a campground. $30

for 50 sq ft of grass. No thank you. 10 miles east. $80 for motel. No thank you. 12 miles

east $35 for motel, wifi, and hot water. Thank you. I'll take it. Still raining. Blue skies an hour

later.

Spoon is a good touring partner, rabbit, and coach. Picked out some nice routing through rural areas.

Reluctantly followed me and my gps, a few times. Our interchages as recorded in this journal

are pretty accurate reflections of how it was. We'll tour again together I suspect. Gotta

do one in January.

A few random observations: No dog chases for the last 500 miles. Canada has

more lakes than the rest of the world combined. The Canadian-US border is the

longest in the world. Paved shoulders are not a priority in Ontario. The

Canadian health care system is probably the world's finest.

Daily angst: Spoon abandoning me. He did leave the can opener. Never did buy me that cigar

to smoke so he could smell it.

Four year old Morgan catches the bus for pre-kindergarden
Heart 0 Comment 0
On the trail to Niagara
Heart 0 Comment 0
Not a bad picker. He got a toonie. NF State Park.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Niagara Falls State Park is oldest in US. The steps get you up close and personal for free.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Spoon waving us off
Heart 0 Comment 0
Maid of the Mist
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Quiz: What is the name of the boat at Niagara Falls that we rode? How many dogs chased us during our ride?

Today's ride: 45 miles (72 km)
Total: 504 miles (811 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0