Canada, Oh Canada: St Clair, MI to Newbury, Ontario - The Final Leg: A Sea Cruise, Niagara Falls, and Old Ironsides - CycleBlaze

September 10, 2012

Canada, Oh Canada: St Clair, MI to Newbury, Ontario

After a short ferry ride across the St Clair River for a $1, we were welcomed to

Canada and Ontario by a couple of friendly, young border agents. Spoon thinks he

can sneak his way in with a Missouri drivers license. Ha! "Need to see your passport buddy." I talked him into stamping mine as it was brand new and I wanted a stamp in it.

Next stop the bank. 0.94 Canadian for $1 American.

We were directed to Bentpath Road for a 30 mile shot eastward to Newbury. Shot is literal, as the first real curve in the road was at mile 27 and the first

hill at mile 25. There were no services. The cruising was fast, for us, on a smooth surface with very little traffic. Rivaled the highways of SD. Mid 60's, brillant sunshine.

I practiced my intervals. Discouraging to be pedaling as hard as I can, going

18 mph, and looking back to see Spoon drafting on me. Jeez! Have a little mercy. In my favor is that I'm having to put out more watts than Spoon due to the previously mentioned drag, probably caused by inferior bearings.

One open store, this library, and a city park in Newbury. Enough for us.

I like Canada.

No way for me to upload pictures at this library. Later.

Marine City home
Heart 0 Comment 0
Marine City
Heart 0 Comment 0
St Claire River crossing
Heart 0 Comment 0
Almost there
Heart 0 Comment 0
Yah Spoon, you gotta have a passport
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bentpath Road, one of the finest roads we've ever ridden
Heart 0 Comment 0
Those pumps are older than Spoon. Wow. That's old.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
One on the dogs stole my cookies at the park Newbury
Heart 0 Comment 0
Playing in park in Newbury
Heart 0 Comment 0

Quiz: What river did we cross to enter Canada? What did Spoon show the border agent that the agent would not accept?

Today's ride: 45 miles (72 km)
Total: 291 miles (468 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0