A Day of 'Lasts': Almost time to put away the bikes - Searching for Fidel (Tour 9) - 2009 🇨🇺 - CycleBlaze

January 13, 2009

A Day of 'Lasts': Almost time to put away the bikes

Today will be a day of lasts. Our last full day in Breezes Jibacoa and Cuba.

I went to the lobby to read straightaway. Once we had had breakfast we got ready and went for a bike ride. Our last. We headed eastward through the campismos where our tree still grows.

We decided we'd try the trail into the jungle. The jungle became increasingly dense but a few times there were pathways which led to the top of the rock cliff with views of light blue coves. Waves pounding the rock cliffs. Views up and down the rugged coast with no evidence of humans. It must have been something to have seen these islands hundreds of years ago. We might have been able to climb down onto the rock except that it was very wet and we had the bikes with us and would have to have carried them down with us. Trying to determine how far we were, it appeared that just around the next cove was Boca da Canasi. The trail seemed to rise up the hill, but too tough for the bikes so we turned back. As it turns out, Boca is 'just' around the next cove, but the rock sticks out quite far and seems quite high as per the view on Google Maps so likely impossible to get around unless a person could mountain climb... which I have zero experience in doing.

Along the seaside we took our time and watched the waves pounding the rocky shoreline, the wind in the palms and the turds in our treads. At the hotel fence we turned and followed the trail up to the road which included a section that was a jungle canopy/tunnel through the palms along the edge of the resort. Beautiful. I didn't have the camera with me.

With the last ride done, I started to dismantle the bikes. I worked on the two simultaneously doing the same task on each bike until they were both reduced to a few bags of parts. I stopped the bike work so we could go snorkeling. For the last time. Out to the 'bowl' reef we went, but Marie-Anne was scared of the hovering fish so after bringing her back in, I returned to my run around the coral, diving here and there to see if there was anything hidden below.

I asked Ailec (staff) about traveling with the kids on the bike, and she agreed that I would have to keep an eye on the bike at all times or almost assuredly risk it vanishing. Her words about it vanishing were 'for sure'.

Marie-Anne arrived so we had the Cuban sandwich during the day's beach festivities. It is a simple sandwich of beach barbecued pork on bread but is very delicious. Of course, for dessert we had the buffet and I had another bowl of their creamy ice cream - something we just don't have at home.

I figured I should do more bike-packing so I did while Marie-Anne read. Both bikes were into their boxes with the components either attached to their frames with tape or in my backpack bags which would be detached from the backpack and clipped on the bikes within the boxes. I have not lost any parts to this point after 23 years of cycle touring and I wish to continue this record. We flew with Air Transat and to this point they do not charge for carrying a bicycle and the bike is additional to the regular baggage allowance. So, putting as much as possible into the bike boxes was a good thing.

I have made a decision, though. Once home, I am going to order one or two cordura bike-travel bags. Similar to the box packing, pedals, front wheel and bars come off, strapped together then slipped into the bag. Some people also slip cardboard on either side of the bike for added protection, which seems like a good idea. Before we left Bike Nashbar had them on sale, so I'll see what is available once we return home.

Earlier in the day Ailec had mentioned that Sabor a Cuba would be performing at tonight's show. Finally. They have been my favourite performance at the resort by far. For our last show we sat right in front with the idea that I would video the sun dance since this might be the last time we come to the resort. Well, the band was amazing as always, but good plans and all, half way through the performance the rain started to fall. Not a lot, but enough to drive the majority of the guests either to their rooms or under cover. Thankfully the band kept playing since they were under the roof, but with everyone gone, once the band finished performing, there was no Sun dance to record. Oh well. Maybe I will have to return, after all!

Heart 0 Comment 0
The resident band playing Cuban tunes during dinner
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0