DAY THIRTEEN: I Need a Hand, Not a Hook - An Unbelievable Tour Around An Imaginary World - CycleBlaze

DAY THIRTEEN: I Need a Hand, Not a Hook

Queensland to Northern Territory

It felt great to be in Australia.  I've always wanted to visit this country/continent and now, after 64 years of life, here I am.  Unfortunately, the excitement of being in such an exotic land was dampened by my immediate need to find a good hospital that can re-attach my severed hand.  Sure, the hook had some pretty nice features, but it definitely was not a suitable replacement for a good old-fashioned hand.  I was REALLY starting to miss that opposable thumb.

After a good night's sleep, I jammed all my gear into my pannier, placed the container holding my snow-packed hand on my pannier rack, and set off in search of the nearest clinic.

WARNING:  GROSS PICTURES AHEAD.  STOP READING NOW IF, LIKE ME, YOU SOMETIMES PASS OUT AT THE SIGHT OF BLOOD

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

I've got some news for you.  Australia is a very sparsely populated country/continent.  For the life of me, I didn't see any signs of a town--much less a hospital--from the north shore of Queensland all the way to the Outbackian center of The Northern Territory.

I thanked my God of The Church of the Great Outdoors when I finally approached the outskirts of Feeshkogoomba Springs.  

Heart 3 Comment 0

Have you ever noticed how unusual Australian place names are?  Towns, cities, highways, streets, and buildings have long names that require you to think about how to pronounce them.  I'm amused by names like that.

I went into a fast-food restaurant for the sole purpose of asking where I could find a surgical hospital.  The 15-year-old girl at the counter didn't know, so she asked her 18-year-old manager to help me.  The manager said I should "go left out the restaurant's driveway, take another left at the place where an emu hangs out all the time, and continue straight on Bingajordia Road until you reach Oodahajalingoro Avenue.  Turn right, and that will take you to the nearest Emergency Room.  That's the place I go to every time I get bitten by a poisonous snake."

I thanked him for the directions.

My turn off
Heart 1 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltInteresting their street signs are on the right side of the road when they drive on the left...
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Bill ShaneyfeltOne of the quirks of traveling in imaginary Australia is that some towns can make up their own traffic laws.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

I followed Oodahajalingoro Avenue all the way to the Emergency Room.   The frequent victim of snake bites was right on the mark.  Now THAT dude was a great manager.

Heart 1 Comment 0
I picked up my severed hand and rushed it into the emergency room.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I waited in the ER for an hour, which was about two hours less than the wait in a U.S. emergency room.  It was hot in there.  I worried that the snow might melt, and my hand would be ruined forever.

I became even more worried when the triage doctor told me that my hand had become atrophied and pink with flamingoitis.  There was nothing he could do.

"Nothing?"

"No, nothing."

"Nothing at all?"  I waited for just a glimmer of hope.

"Except . . ."  It was the glimmer of hope I was looking for.  "There is an 'alternative surgeon' named Dr. Charlie over on Freakazomoroota Street.  Maybe he can help you."

I sped over there on The Reckless Mr. Bing Bong like I've never sped before.  I was more than a little worried when I saw the address was nothing more than a locked garage.

Dr. Charlie came out and assured me he could fix my problem.  He led me to his surgical laboratory.  It didn't look like any hospital I'd ever seen before, but I was desperate.

Dr. Charlie's surgical laboratory
Heart 2 Comment 0

 

The surgery only took 10 minutes.
Heart 2 Comment 0

When all was said and done, I was mightily impressed.  There was no anesthesia other than the second-hand marijuana smoke he was exhaling, no stitches, and he assured me that I'd be just fine after a day of rest and a few Advils.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 4
George HallI just discovered this journal and immediately jumped into the day-by-day tour specifics. I was so excited to learn you were not only riding around the world but setting all sorts of crazy records doing so! You can't imagine my disappointment when I finished the daily entries and then went and read the introductory stuff, only to discover that this is an imaginary trip - it had seemed so realistic to me! Oh well, I'll continue following along anyway, at least in my imagination...
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo George HallThanks, George, for seeing the realism in my totally fictitious bike tour. That reminds me--I should probably post a reminder about that, lest millions of readers start believing I can ride thousands of miles per day.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Nancy GrahamUnbelievable what they can do in a garage these days. Don’t let HMO get wind of this.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Nancy GrahamStrangely enough, Dr. Charlie doesn't file insurance claims. He made me pay up front for the procedure. It's a good thing I was carrying $50 in cash.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago