DAY EIGHTEEN: What a Day - An Unbelievable Tour Around An Imaginary World - CycleBlaze

DAY EIGHTEEN: What a Day

South Africa to Nigeria

I had never been to the African continent before, but I sure was excited to be here now.  If I thought Australia's animals were exotic, Africa's wildlife was in another stratosphere of exoticality.

Within the first hour of cycling, I saw the following:

I can't imagine a finer greeting to African wildlife than a flock of pink flamingoes.
Heart 4 Comment 3
Keith AdamsThere's a large flock that lives on the same court as me. They like to put on party hats and plastic leis then hang out in the front yard of anyone having a birthday. They're due for their next appearance in a week or so.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Keith AdamsWould that next appearance of flamingoes be in your yard and in your honor, by any chance?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo Gregory GarceauNope. They'll be for our across-the-court neighbor lady, who turns 85 that day. They come for me sometime in October.

The last time a Google Street View car visited our court was last September; it happened to catch the flock in our front yard in recognition of my wife's birthday.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

 

African herons are no slouch either.
Heart 3 Comment 0

I didn't see any lions or gorillas or hippos or hyenas, but I remained hopeful that I'd see some of those mammals in the next few days.  

In the meantime, I realized I had forgotten to resupply my food reserves after G-2 robbed them from me.  I couldn't believe I passed up all kinds of food markets in South Africa, Botswana, The Congo, and Cameroon.  I'm such an idiot.

My emaciated body must have looked like fresh meat to these African vultures on the Congo River.
Heart 4 Comment 0

When I could ride no more,  I gathered up a bunch of hardy desert plants, insects, arachnids and other gross stuff to make a soup.  It wasn't good but it was better than nothing.

Heart 5 Comment 0
Later, I set up camp somewhere up in those Saharan sand dunes.
Heart 5 Comment 0

I'm too tired to write much more.  Please come back to this journal tomorrow.  Thank you.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 0