Mont-Laurier to Riviere-Rouge: A nice day where nothing happened - Heading for a (Colourful) Fall - CycleBlaze

September 27, 2016

Mont-Laurier to Riviere-Rouge: A nice day where nothing happened

It was an uneventful day.

I was glad.

My legs were ecstatic. They had been hurting after yesterday's ride and were still hurting this morning if I used them at all.

So I paid attention to the heart rate monitor and had a nice, slow, gentle ride. This was possible because I was riding the P'tit Train du Nord, a paved rail trail.

It's the highlight of the Route Verte and I could see why. It was paved (and will continue to be paved until Labelle tomorrow) and the hills were easy because of the grading.

The path is rough in many sections, but these are mostly marked in orange paint. There are many picnic tables and outhouses, and even sheltered areas built to resemble train cars. There is even water available in certain spots.

At Riviere-Rouge, I proceeded to blow my budget on yet another motel room. I think it was a good decision, and the woman there was that rare Quebecer who spoke simple French so I could understand her.

I'm no expert, but I think this building in Mont-Laurier looks completely out of place in Canada
Heart 0 Comment 0
Old hydroelectric plant in Mont-Laurier
Heart 0 Comment 0
Water along the P'tit Train du Nord can be hard to see so they painted signs on the trail.
Heart 0 Comment 0
View from the path
Heart 0 Comment 0
Tree changing colour from the outside in
Heart 0 Comment 0
View from the path
Heart 0 Comment 0
I leapfrogged with these guys for half the day; they rode faster but stopped more often. They were using baskets, too! This was the last time I saw them, they got away after I stopped for lunch.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Must be an easy day if I'm taking self-timed photos. I consider this photo a success because you can't tell there are massive holes in the elbows of my shirt.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Pretty sure this says "Cross bridges at your own risk". Really??
Heart 0 Comment 0
I'm tentatively identifying this as a wood turtle, with a crocodile tail. It had a funny, flailing, lurching, very inefficient walk.
Heart 0 Comment 0
View along the P'tit Train du Nord.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 74 km (46 miles)
Total: 1,019 km (633 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0