Mays Point to Macedon: The first day of summer - Heading for a (Colourful) Fall - CycleBlaze

October 18, 2016

Mays Point to Macedon: The first day of summer

It was a warm and humid morning which turned into a hot day--nearly 30 degrees. Packing up was difficult under thise conditions, by which I mean I was still under siege by slugs and mosquitoes.

The mosquitoes chased me back into my tent because I only have two hands and therefore can't deal with seven mosquitoes biting me simultaneously. Where was that nasty headwind the weather forecast promised me? I could've used it then.

But no. Because it was summer, I had to wear shorts that not only showed off the scrapes and bruises, but now a ton of bites as well.

The ride along the Erie Canal started by following somewhat hilly roads that were nowhere near the canal, which was probably for the best in terms of mosquitoes and scenery. I passed some freaky cows at one point; it's normal for cows to stare coldly at me as I pass, but these ones started mooing, too. I heard a chorus of groans as I biked up a hill, and some of them even starting moving toward the fence, a bit like zombies might.

The canal trail started at Newark, and was unpaved except for random short sections, possibly to prevent water damage.

I didn't notice the wind too much, which is an insult to a headwind. I have a feeling I'm going to pay for this later. (Full disclosure: I'm writing this several days later and already know the weather is horrible.)

I camped at Lock 30, which at first seemed like a fantastic place to camp: Jeff, the lock operator, was very welcoming (actually, they've all been good, seems like they actually like cheap, mooching cyclists), even pointing out an electrical outlet for charging--with a small shelf above it--and checking the weather forecast.

Showers overnight. He said I could camp in the covered pavilion, but I opted to stay by the lock, near the water and toilet. Nights have been so damp that everything is wet in the morning anyway, so I didn't mind a bit of rain as long as I didn't have to pack up in it. (This proved to be a mistake, as a few showers became a torrential downpour, which I hated because my attenpt to cut back on snacks left me in a really bad mood. Seems I need every calorie).

So what wasn't to like about camping there? It's near a busy railroad and I could hear the loud warning horn from every train, at all three road crossings through town.

There was one other incident, too. I feel a bit uneasy camping out in the open and all alone, and Macedon was a bit busier than the other places I've camped at on the canal. It felt okay, though.

At least until I went to the bathroom. I didn't have my flashlight on because there was just enough ambient light to make my way around. I thought I saw a shadow move under the door, but how could that be? There was nobody around. I went outside and saw a dark shape waiting for me.

It started growling and barking. I yelled. It barked. The owners, off in the distance, said, "What are you barking at? Come here." It didn't listen until they were close and I was nearly in my tent. They didn't even acknowledge me. There are a lot of terrible dog owners out there. I can't stand them, especially when my body thinks it didn't eat enough that day.

The non-Erie Canal Trail
Heart 0 Comment 0
The non-Erie Canal Trail
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Erie Canal Trail
Heart 0 Comment 0
Can't tell if these are horrible jack-o-lanterns or radioactive waste
Heart 0 Comment 0
Geese can be a problem as they often don't get out of the way. These ones did, reluctantly but with a minimum of hissing.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lyons
Heart 0 Comment 0
Palmyra
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 60 km (37 miles)
Total: 2,132 km (1,324 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0