Macedon to Holley: Two days along the canal and I'm not bored yet - Heading for a (Colourful) Fall - CycleBlaze

October 19, 2016

Macedon to Holley: Two days along the canal and I'm not bored yet

I don't have much to say about my canal days because, well, I'm riding along a canal, but at least I'm not bored yet. If I find myself drifting off, sooner or later I get a leaf caught in my fender, which isn't much of an event but causes a worrying hissing sound.

There were lots of people on the path today, plus some beside it with fishing rods. One man in a kayak pulled a fish out of the water as I passed.

Only one of all those walkers/joggers/cyclists/strollerists stands out: a woman who was walking ahead of me, right in the centre of the path.

I moved to the left and rang my bell.

She moved left and poked at her phone.

I tried the bell again; people often don't respond to the first one.

She responded by raising her phone for a photo, which would've been fine except she was drifting sideways again.

Her daughter, walking a bit further ahead, looked over her shoulder and said, "Mom, watch out."

The woman finally understood. "Sorry," she said, then, "Get a bell."

Since there was no point in saying anything to her, I've been saving up my scorn for this journal: perhaps for her, an air horn would be more appropriate. Or a coupon for a hearing test. Or maybe someone to steal her phone. Whatever, she is my winner of the Stupidest Person on the Erie Canal Trail award.

And that was the most annoying moment of my day. Not bad at all. Plenty of bathrooms, picnic tables, water. Pleasant scenery. Good weather; the headwind slowed me down but I didn't have to work harder.

And then I arrived in Holley, which has a camping area with a shower. For free! There is, however, no longer a grocery store in Holley, and the downtown area was all but deserted mid-afternoon, the main source of traffic being Route 31, everyone just passing through. There's a Dollar General a bit to the west on 31 and they have some food, and there's a diner in town, but the place looks like it's slowly dying.

Except for the parks and all the people in them. Where did they all come from?

Back at the campground, a boat came under the lift bridge to the west and docked at the side of the canal; it appeared the occupants were staying the night. I was glad at first, as it gave me a sense of security that was shattered when the couple were completely uninterested in socializing with any of the many passersby who said hi. There would be no help from them. (Insecurity turned to creeped out when I noticed the security camera pointed right at the camping area. You just can't win with me.)

The man spent all his time puttering around the boat, while the woman put something in a tiny stroller and went for a walk.

It turned out to be a cat. Because, you know, cats love being stuffed into confined spaces and forced to go to unfamiliar places. That was even stupider than the woman who told me to get a bell. Right, keep your cat cooped up on a boat, then keep it even more cooped up while you get to stretch your legs. That's worse than making a human work in an office; at least those people can take the stairs once in a while if they want to.

Morning on the Erie Canal
Heart 0 Comment 0
Still morning on the Erie Canal
Heart 0 Comment 0
Water's looking a bit murky
Heart 0 Comment 0
I dared to take a break here, under a generous tree; evidently I like to live dangerously.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lock gate
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looking up
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lift bridge at Brockport
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 77 km (48 miles)
Total: 2,209 km (1,372 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0