Oct 4, 2022: Altered States - Spring Flavours of Spain & Portugal (Tour 23) - 2023  ðŸ‡ªðŸ‡¸ 🇵🇹 - CycleBlaze

October 4, 2022

Oct 4, 2022: Altered States

Spain is back on deck

SO. Some great Aeroplan seats popped up from Timmins to Toronto to Madrid that I just could not pass up. I found convenient train options to get to a starting point, and trains to get me to the end in case I run out of time. Plus, there was something haunting me about my relegation of Spain to 'some other time'.

I still haven't actually had paella in Spain, so if this plan continues unfettered, then paella Valenciana it will be. Tapas, por favor y gracias. Too long since I was in Spain so this feels right.

Our daughter created a sketch from one of last year's tour photos along the Tagus estuary. I anticipate re-riding this route which I so enjoy.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Like the wheels of time I keep mentioning... here I am back to starting in Madrid which I had set up in the first place.

I love both countries and hopefully they appreciate me or at least my fondness for their country, their foods and cappuccinos. 

So, there it is.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Kathleen ClassenWe are sitting on the coast of Spain, luxuriating in the weather and thinking both Spain and Portugal are great places to cycle! We have seen such a small part of both, so we will be back. Our first trip to both. Whatever you do is going to be fantastic.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rachael AndersonHi, Brent. This is Scott - Rachael grabbed my iPad so I’m using hers, and her logon.

Coincidentally, I was looking recently at biking west from Madrid toward Portugal. In case you weren’t familiar with it, Madrid’s regional rail system (the Cercanias) is very bike friendly - or t least Barcelona’s version was this spring when we used it - just roll on and roll off.

Anyway, Madrid’s network is pretty wide-sprawling and gives you an easy way out of the city without having to bike across miles of sprawl. For example, you could catch the suburban to Aranjuez (I think it’s he C- line) and bike west from there toward Toledo - which is what we’ll do if we ever start out from here.

And if you do go this direction be sure to put Trujillo and Caceres on your itinerary.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Brent IrvineTo Kathleen ClassenWith snow starting to show itself in our forecast, I am envious of your being where I'd like to be. Glad to hear you enjoyed Iberia. I have enjoyed ever minute there!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Brent IrvineTo Rachael AndersonI cycled westward from Madrid in 2015 and on that trip made a return to my favorite Spanish town - Trujillo - in my favorite part of Spain - Extremadura. The route brought me to Lisbon after meandering here and there over a few weeks.
My start will be Madrid since it has been since that trip that I was there and always enjoy the city. I will, indeed, be rolling on to the train in Madrid with my bike and rolling off in Salamanca - riding on a MD train. Then my route will intertwine with the Duero/Douro. My wife and I cycled the Douro in 2017 and I found it worthy of another ride including that bit in Spain before Miranda do Douro (though she wont be joining me this time). When I start running out of time I'll hop onto the train to Porto, then to Lisbon before returning home. Possibly a stop again in Sintra.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago