Urban Cycling Doesn't Get Better - Sights Set On Morocco (Under A Hot Sun) - CycleBlaze

July 12, 2014

Urban Cycling Doesn't Get Better

I had camped in a secluded field with a view of the Severn bridge, which I'd crossed the evening before. I was now on the NCN cycle route into Bristol along the Avon river, an easy straightforward route into a major city. Its a pity I hadn't come across it when I come this way in 2011. Then I'd gone inland away from the Severn, got lose, then found myself on a busy artery into the centre.

In the warm Summer weather, Bristol city centre looks a fab place to hang around for a bit. Although its still early Saturday morning, lots of people are out enjoying the sun and there's a vibrant street market by the quay. I stop for a coffee before cycling on. I was told the Bristol to Bath cycle path starts near the railway station, but although seeing signs for it, I missed a turning on a downhill street and end up confused to where the way continues, until a group of cyclists pass. I follow in pursuit. They turn up the same hill street I'd come down, and turn off right halfway up. The sign isn't too visible coming down, so I missed it.

The path follows the old Bristol to Bath railway line closed in 1969, opened to cycling in the early eighties. On a sunny day like today, it is a relaxing spin along a path lined with overhanging trees and with verges of wild flora, passing under old bridges, through a tunnel and passes an old station platform. There's also a station with a working steam locomotive.

It being July, Bath is buzzing with people, a fact which stroke home when I started look for accommodation. I try the Backpackers, YHA, YMCA in that order. The YHA phoned around other alternatives without joy, and the YMCA recommended I try the Whitehart Inn in Widcombe, which I do. Widcombe is a kind of old town Bath claims the guy at the YMCA, and just beyond the railway station. Oddly enough there is plenty of room at the inn.

In the duration of my stay I've recharged batteries and I'm ready again for the road. I've had to make changes to my purposed route ahead for reasons which will become apparent later on, namely, I hope to reach Morocco by late August. During the ride down there might not be time for more than a page or two pages per week, but I'll keep you posted as best I can.

The NCN 4 follows the river Avon from Avonmouth into the centre of Bristol, passing under the Clifton Bridge.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The old Great Western Docks.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bristol Cathedral.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Bristol to Bath cycle path.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Old railway tunnel. Bristol to bath cycle path
Heart 0 Comment 0
Nice folder.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Where to next? Sign in Bath.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Women's cricket on Sunday afternoon in the centre of Bath.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Although a little overexposed, this shows how much park and green space there is.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Widcombe High Street. The village to the rear of the railway station.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The White Hart Inn in Widcombe, was about the only place left with available beds when I arrived on Saturday.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The Royal Crescent. Georgian Exuberants.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Ready good street musicians, performed a rendition of Fleetwood Mac's, You Can Go You Own Way (But Don't Ye Say)
Heart 0 Comment 0
Fancy an ice-cream.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is a shot in the shade and toward the sun spilling over the roof top. Okay the shop sign is partly obscured, but to me it looks like a water colour.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
I like to think that I keep daily expenditure down to the minimum, but this crazy guy on a bike takes the biscuit. He spends no money at all. Not on food. Hasn't eaten a bit in years, yet he's still on the road.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
All to myself.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 58 km (36 miles)
Total: 1,394 km (866 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0