This Is The Place: Break In Santiago del Compostella. - Sights Set On Morocco (Under A Hot Sun) - CycleBlaze

November 30, 2014

This Is The Place: Break In Santiago del Compostella.

So I've made it to Santiago at long last. I mentioned at the end of "the journey" journal I wanted to cycle here and continue south via Portugal and eventually Morocco. I've reached this gold now albeit in reverse.

There isn't a lot to come here for really. As usual the ride here is what is exiting from a cyclist's point of view and I'm sure it is the same for all the pilgrim walkers from all nations who make it here. Most of those I met in the hostel I'm staying in, start out alone, but in the duration of their hike meet up with others and remain together, striking up warm friendships through the adversity of wet rainy, or thirsty hot weather and pain endured from strains and blistered feet.

There's nothing more I can think to say, except the hostel I'm staying in is nicely located in the old town and there's a small supermarket just round the corner, one of those small places with one check out till and a meat and cheese corner where you talk to humans to ask what you'll have. And you must seek another to weight and label your fruit and vegetables. And generally after a few days the friendly staff get to know you.

The road ahead is to the port of Santander where I'll take a ferry to England and wait until arriving home before writing up any more pages for this journal.

Morning rooftop view from hostel.
Heart 0 Comment 0
When in Rome. I don't usually eat sausages, but these Spanish ones are delicious, especially with red wine.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another day's
Heart 0 Comment 0
As I'm not into cathedrals and such like, I'm posting pictures taken in the park.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
I met an English cyclist traveling south for Winter. He gave me useful information on a special "rail and sail ticket" from London to Dublin: cheap at £38. Thanks
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0