Gear - Sights Set On Morocco (Under A Hot Sun) - CycleBlaze

June 12, 2014

Gear

The Dawes Galaxy is a racy workhorse. I often think if it were stripped down of racks and mudguards and lightweight tyres were fitted, it could be used for racing. At the same time its tough inasmuch as, the full touring load is barely noticeable when on the go. I've had it into the local bike shop for a first service. The only thing that really needed doing, was repacking the hubs with grease and a little truing of the rear wheel. Additionally I've replaced the brakes. The cantilevers were such a letdown. The pads weren't readily available across the counter for the particular model of canti-brake the bike came with, meaning I'd to compromise, using pads for a completely different model of brake. I've now fitted a set of high-end Avid vee-brakes. I've also fitted a Shimano LX crankset, as the old crank got twisted the time I rode with a worn-out bottom-bracket during the last tour.

I first saw the little Helsport Stestind when I moved to Norway in the late nineties and was impressed by it's lightweight (1.7 KG) and small pack-down size. Then in 2004 for my first trip to South America, I bought one which had been reduced to 3000 kroner (300 Sterling), as it was the previous year's tent (2003). It is what it is. The living space inside is limited and there isn't much headroom. I think its only intended for camping trips of no longer than two or three weeks. Nevertheless I've lived with it for my two most recent tours of many months duration. Its essentially a tunnel tent with a long pole and a short pole, but the later snapped early on during the last tour, though Is able to improvise by stretching out taut and guying the end where the small pole previously went, so the tent became a single pole apex tent. This worked fine until the remaining long pole snapped due to age. I repaired it using a sleeve (a tube which slides over the broken pole), then it snapped a second time and I used the last sleeve, the last of the pole spare parts provided. So given the above, I decided it was time for a new tent.

To buy a new tent, I Googled outdoor shops and came up with a big outdoor shop in Belfast stocking the Vango range of tents. There was also a Dublin based online shop stocking the MSR Hubba Hubba, but I prefer to see the tent first in the shop and buy across the counter. Though, the real reason I'm limited to travelling to a shop and physically buying in cash is, I don't have a card that I can pay for things online because of punitive restrictions on opening bank accounts in the UK. I checked out the various tents in the range online to get an idea of what is available. I liked the three poled, the text say, semi-geodesic dome. Vango call their's the Mirage 200. On the spec-list, its a two person and weighs 2.9 KG. The extra weight in comparison with my old tent I don't so much mind as the poles look a lot more robust. Its also free standing and has ample internal space. Its about a third bigger than my old Doite Himalya of the same design, I used in South America, so I'm already familiar with the design. The biggest improvement is the pole which arches up over the front end has an apex piece, the text state it is a gothic arch, eliminating the stress on this pole. I also like the pegs provided. They look like steel, though are alloy, and don't bend so easily when trying to get them into hard stony ground. Time will tell how well I get on with it.

Note angler-apex front hoop, dividing the front pole into two halfs, eliminating the fear of snapping on tents of the same design without this apex.
Heart 0 Comment 0

A final point, the new tent is reasonably priced at £160. The modern Helsport Stestind retails at £400, the same as an MSR Hubba Hubba.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0