Day 71 - 73: London and Done - Athens to London in 1983 - CycleBlaze

July 19, 1983 to July 21, 1983

Day 71 - 73: London and Done

Days 71, 72, 73: Tuesday through Thursday, 19 - 21 July 1983

Start: Hotel, London, UK

End: Hotel, London, UK

Before I left the States, a couple of business friends visiting from London invited me to look them up when I reached the end of the line, so I did. Steve and Ian were exceptionally generous with their time, energy, and funds. They drove me around the city, showed me the sights, introduced me to their friends, took me out to the newest hot spot -- Hard Rock Cafe -- and put me up overnight. Steve tried to convince me to stay a few more days because his redheaded sister -- a lovely hippie maiden, according to his description -- was on her way back from France, and she would be sorely disappointed because he had promised her to send me down to stay with her awhile. That offer, I must admit, was exceedingly difficult to pass up. Almost enough to make me change my flight plans.

I consoled myself by pedaling to Hendon to see the Royal Air Force museum and study all their WWII aircraft.

Pedaled back out to a hotel near Heathrow and scrounged up suitable cardboard cartons and packed gear on Thursday.

Tomorrow the airliner takes me -- and Bob the trusty bike -- back to Illinois.

It's been fun, big fun.

Conditions 

Distance: 50 km pedaling around London 

Weather: Hot 

Road: Good 

Traffic: Very heavy, on the wrong damn side of the road 

Terrain: Urban 

Mechanical: All is well

Physical: Feeling very strong, but already a bit nostalgic

Today's ride: 50 km (31 miles)
Total: 5,111 km (3,174 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0