Day 65: Amphibious Assault across the English Channel - Athens to London in 1983 - CycleBlaze

July 13, 1983

Day 65: Amphibious Assault across the English Channel

Day 65: Wednesday, 13 July 1983

Start: Hostel, Cherbourg, France

End: Hotel Alexandra, Weymouth, UK

Slept poorly last night. Not sure why.

Out and about around 9:30. Gorged on pastry. Spent time riding around Cherbourg. Up the steep road to the mountain overlooking the city. Visited the -- what else? -- WWII museum at Fort du Roule. Wandered around. Killed time. Hung out around the boat basin. Picked up some rations and knick-knacks. Read. Added up mileage so far. Around 4800 kilometers, I think.

Queued up at the ferry around 4:00. Definitely a lump in my throat as the boat pulled out at 5:30. Farewell to the Continent.

I was worried about mal de mer, but the Channel was glassy. Read a lot and, as always, studied maps. At least I don't need to try to memorize words for bread, cheese, beer, and bathroom in another language. Just about everybody on the boat is speaking English. That's a real change of pace after more than two months.

Unlike border crossings I've been doing via bicycle, the ferry has a customs and immigration desk. The officer studies me, studies my passport, and wants to know where I've been. I'm probably overdoing it a bit when I launch into a long description of my route so far, but he seems to be impressed. "My goodness," he says. "You must be quite fit."

Come to think of it, I must be.

After our four-hour cruise, the ferry eases into Weymouth. It's too late to ride, but I know there will be hotels around the harbor area. 

Conditions 

Distance: 20 km plus ferry ride 

Weather: Warm 

Road: n/a 

Traffic: n/a 

Terrain: n/a 

Mechanical: All is well 

Physical: Feeling quite fit, a little sad, but no mal de mer

Today's ride: 20 km (12 miles)
Total: 4,783 km (2,970 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0