Day 49: Bad Guts Pushing Pedals in Friesland - Athens to London in 1983 - CycleBlaze

June 27, 1983

Day 49: Bad Guts Pushing Pedals in Friesland

Day 49: Monday, 27 June 1983

Start: Hostel, Emst, Netherlands

End: Hostel, Heeg, Netherlands

Breakfast at the hostel. Loads of bread and jam and tea. Out early.

Constant chilly gusts from shifting directions this morning. Not sure I'm ever getting any tailwind. No energy.

Couldn't eat much for lunch. Stomach and bowels not so good. Kept having to stop to find a toilet.

Lousy afternoon. Bleak gray terrain. Stomach keeps hurting. Gotta keep pushing the pedals. Push the pedals. My mantra today. Pushthepedals.

Found hostel in village of Heeg. Crowded. Noisy. Dirty. Smelly. I'm one of six people sardined into a tiny room with tri-level bunks. Still feeling terrible. Chills. I force down a cold meal. Tired. Trying to get to sleep right away, but it's early and there's too much commotion and noise in the bunk room. No one says a word to me. 

I probably look like I'm about to keel over and die. Feel like it.

Conditions 

Distance: 105 km  

Weather: Cooler, overcast, and windy 

Road: Good 

Traffic: Very light 

Terrain: Very flat 

Mechanical: A-OK 

Physical: Sick and weak

Today's ride: 105 km (65 miles)
Total: 3,464 km (2,151 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0