Day 48: You Don't Need a Weatherman to Know Which Way the Wind Blows in Gelderland - Athens to London in 1983 - CycleBlaze

June 26, 1983

Day 48: You Don't Need a Weatherman to Know Which Way the Wind Blows in Gelderland

Day 48: Sunday, 26 June 1983

Start: Campground, Groesbeek, Netherlands

End: Hostel, Emst, Netherlands

Mat and Erich fixed us a big breakfast and told me I should meet them back at the Groesbeek campground after I finish my loop around the north of the country so I can tell them about my ride. What great kids! I bid them farewell and pedaled off.

I don't pay enough attention to the date or day of the week. It's Sunday and most of the shops seem to be closed. I have to waste a lot of time looking for food and drink. Kind of dull riding. Not feeling very energetic. You don't need a weatherman to know which way the wind blows. Through Apeldoorn.

Feeling kind of crappy. Called it quits at the Emst hostel around 3:00. I convinced the hostel warden that if he would loan me rags and brush and a little gasoline I would clean up his battered old bike as well as Bob. After cleaning and adjusting and lubing, everything should be running a little smoother. Washed my increasingly smelly and tattered garments. 

Conditions 

Distance: 65 km  

Weather: Cool and overcast with headwind 

Road: Good 

Traffic: Very light 

Terrain: Very flat 

Mechanical: Running a little rough 

Physical: Feeling a little puny

Today's ride: 65 km (40 miles)
Total: 3,359 km (2,086 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0