Day 43: The Valley of the Riesling Grape - Athens to London in 1983 - CycleBlaze

June 21, 1983

Day 43: The Valley of the Riesling Grape

Day 43: Tuesday, 21 June 1983

Start: Hostel, Weiskirchen, Germany

End: Campground, Bernkastel, Germany

The children at the youth hostel were still running wild in the morning. I swallowed bread and butter and jam and tea for breakfast and hit the road by 9:00.

The road immediately went up, a climb over the Hunrach. Not a bad ride. Hit Trier in roughly 35 kilometers. Looked around. Took care of a few chores. Saw my first McDonalds of the expedition and couldn't resist having a Big Mac and fries with apple pie. Guess I shouldn't be surprised they sell beer with lunch and dinner. That's what I call a happy meal.

Back on the road following the Moselle/Mosel River through wine country. The area around Saar seemed ugly to me, but this is beautiful. Steep hillsides dropping down to both sides of the river. Every square inch covered with vineyards. Lots of wineries. Very picturesque, but kind of crowded on the road along the river.

Hands getting a little sore today, so I stopped for a beer. German beer very strong! Back on the road a little wobbly. 

A pretty nice day weather-wise, but a thunderstorm blew in this evening. I stopped at a campground about 5 km short of Bernkastel and set up the June Bug before it let loose. After the rain stopped I walked over to a restaurant for dinner. I really like Greek food and Italian food. French food okay. But so far not warming up to German cuisine. On the other hand, I was really pleased to discover I could get a banana split for dessert.

Back at the campground met a Canadian bicyclist and we split a bottle of Riesling. Too close to noisy road and yapping dog.

Conditions 

Distance: 90 km  

Weather: Cool and cloudy, then warming up, then thunderstorm 

Road: Okay but not enough shoulder 

Traffic: Moderate traffic 

Terrain: Over a hill, into valley, flat along the river 

Mechanical: All is well 

Physical: Strong

Today's ride: 90 km (56 miles)
Total: 2,929 km (1,819 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0