Day 32: Into the Jura Mountains - Athens to London in 1983 - CycleBlaze

June 10, 1983

Day 32: Into the Jura Mountains

Day 32: Friday, 10 June 1983

Start: Campground, Montrevel, France

End: Campground, St Claude, France

The weather yesterday was beautiful and the sky was clear when I crawled into the June Bug last night, so I left all my loaded panniers on Bob to make for a faster getaway this morning. (Usually I toss everything into the tent with me just for security.) Naturally, a thunderstorm rolled through about 1:00 AM. I hopped out in the pouring rain, unlashed everything, threw the gear into the tent, and jumped back in. Wet, wet, wet. In the morning, extremely humid with lots of condensation inside the rain fly. Packed gear wet and departed Montrevel approximately 8:00, running east toward Switzerland. Sun comes out right away.

Like yesterday, the countryside is beautiful and the weather very nice. Smooth road. Minimal traffic. Utter bliss. At one point I actually tear up as I'm riding along, just because everything seems so perfect. Bob the Bike pretends not to notice the water in my eyes.

Before noon I left the rolling fields and began climbing into hills. Up and down, gaining more elevation, working into rugged terrain. Steep hillsides covered with pines, fast little rivers, moss growing on bare rock outcroppings, sheep in occasional hillside pastures. 

Saw three bicycles headed west with full gear. Stopped and talked to a lone Dutch bike traveller on a three-week ride around the Juras. He recommends the Vosges but says Switzerland is too crowded and busy. Again this afternoon I'm singing aloud to myself as I pedal. Set out runnin' but I take my time. A friend of the devil is a friend of mine. If I get home before daylight, I just might get some sleep tonight.

Found a hillside campground. The long-haired, bearded guy who runs the campground, Rene, and his girlfriend, Martine, just returned from the States. They invited me in for cous-cous dinner and wine, played good music.

Conditions 

Distance: 95 km  

Weather: Warm 

Road: Good 

Traffic: Light 

Terrain: From flat to steep 

Mechanical: All is well 

Physical: Feeling good

Today's ride: 95 km (59 miles)
Total: 2,090 km (1,298 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0