Day 31: Another Train Ride - Athens to London in 1983 - CycleBlaze

May 9, 1983

Day 31: Another Train Ride

Day 31: Thursday, 9 June 1983

Start: Campground, Avignon, France

End: Campground, Montrevel, France

In the morning Keith, Tracey, and I walk back to the train station in Avignon, lugging our gear and buying pastry along the way. They're ecstatic to find their bikes have arrived safely, wish me well, and set off. My train doesn't leave until 12:57, so I build a nest with my panniers on the platform and pass the time reading and eating. I think this marks a full month on the road.

The train ride is speedy and uneventful. My bike gear causes an old-timer to quiz me about my journey, and he buys me a jug of orange juice. It takes three hours to reach Macon, a town I've chosen pretty much at random based on the ticket master's list of places where the freight train stops. Bob the bike awaits me there in fine fettle. 

Macon seems not to have a hostel, and the only campground in town doesn't open for another week. No problem. I mount up and ride east. Something should turn up, or else I'll stop in a field along the road. The countryside is lovely along this perfect back road. Zero traffic. Rolling fields of grain, pastures, creeks, small farms, crossroad villages. Much to my liking. 

I speak sweetly to Bob, but he never responds. I sing loudly to myself as I pedal, but there's no one around to hear me.

In 26 kilometers I find a campground for US$3. It's right on a lake, quite large, and quite empty. I have an entire meadow plus bathroom and shower facilities all to myself.

Conditions 

Distance: 26 km plus train ride 

Weather: Warm 

Road: Good 

Traffic: Light 

Terrain: Rolling 

Mechanical: All is well 

Physical: Feeling good

Today's ride: 26 km (16 miles)
Total: 1,995 km (1,239 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0