Day 26: Cannes, part one - Athens to London in 1983 - CycleBlaze

June 4, 1983

Day 26: Cannes, part one

Day 26: Saturday, 4 June 1983

Start: Campground, Nice, France

End: Hotel, Cannes, France

An easy roll into Cannes where I find a hotel within a half mile of the beach. Relative to where I've been, this is a pretty ritzy place. Well, Cannes isn't exactly the bargain basement of Europe. The clerk eyes me dubiously and calls over the manager. I'm dirty, sweaty, pungent, disheveled, and probably not wearing the same kind of clothes as most of their guests. When I pull out my American Express card, they're much more agreeable. US$30 per night. Compared to what I've been doing, it's a fortune, but this will be my big splurge in the high-rent district. It must be a nice place, because the staff won't allow me to take Bob up to the room. They assure me he'll be safe locked away in a utility closet.

Either none of the other guests here realize I'm on a bike, or none of them care. That's kind of a change of pace for me.

Guess you have to be a movie star before anyone notices you around here.

Conditions 

Distance: 35 km 

Weather: Beautiful 

Road: Good 

Traffic: Busy 

Terrain: Flat 

Mechanical: All is well 

Physical: Strong

Today's ride: 35 km (22 miles)
Total: 1,713 km (1,064 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0