Day 21: Along the Po River to Castel San Giovanni - Athens to London in 1983 - CycleBlaze

May 30, 1983

Day 21: Along the Po River to Castel San Giovanni

Day 21: Monday, 30 May 1983

Start: Youth hostel, Guastalla, ItalyEnd: 

Side of the road, Castel San Giovanni, Italy

After a full day of rest I was back on the road early and riding strong. Good road, but from about Piacenza becoming much more crowded with big trucks. Still flat, but I can see the mountains getting closer and higher.

Stopped at a restaurant for dinner. Owners say it's no problem to camp in the empty field across the road.

In the fading light I study maps. When we split north of Bari, Mike and I agreed to look for each other at the youth hostel in Genoa. That's about a day's ride away. Given the fact that I took the train part way up the east coast while he will probably end up spending lots of time in Pisa and Florence, it's not likely we'll reconnect in Genoa. And, frankly, at this point I'm not sure I want to. I think I prefer riding my own solo expedition. 

I spend a lot of time running my finger across my maps. 

Time for sleep.

Conditions 

Distance: 110 km 

Weather: Warm and humid 

Road: Smooth, decent shoulders 

Traffic: Becoming crowded with trucks 

Terrain: Flat, but mountains getting closer 

Mechanical: All is well 

Physical: Strong

Today's ride: 110 km (68 miles)
Total: 1,353 km (840 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0